Completely Hooked

Hooked on singles yarns. I want to spin them all the time now. That’s not to say that I’m not doing plied yarns but I’m really enjoying the singles more than anything right now. So much so that I decided that we needed a spin along/knit along. It’s being hosted on Raverly Here.

I decided I needed to design a shawl for knit along portion so that’s I spent a little time doing over the weekend.

working-on-curtain-shawl
I’m knitting the sample with fiber from Southern Cross Fibre Shetland in Koala. It’s a single spun at 16-18WPI. For the Knit along I’m going to do about 18-20WPI

This entry was posted in Knitting, spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Completely Hooked

  1. beverly says:

    I love this idea–I’ve been lax about spinning lately, and I think this is just the thing to get me motivated again! Thanks!

  2. Jennifer says:

    Love the knitting. BUT I ADORE the mug. Praytell, where did you get that adorable creation?

  3. Amy says:

    I know that feeling. I am completely hooked on 3 plies right now!

  4. lisa says:

    The last 3 things off my new wheel are singles (which I haven’t yet set the twist on). I’m thinking I can spin up 4 oz of singles of pogo’s fiber from spa before your wed night spin thin class… I’m thinking I want to spin thin and then ply. I have some alpaca I’m interested in doing this too…..

  5. DebbieB says:

    OMG, Amy – that’s what I spun on Sunday! I did 4 oz of Koala Shetland into singles, and I think they’re 18 wpi. We’re singles twins!

  6. Gorgeous handspun singles, Amy! I may have to go over to your Ravelry group right now!!

  7. Sara says:

    (is that part of the mystery stole chart in the background? it looks fabulous!!!)

  8. Monika says:

    May I ask were you did get that sheepy mug? Love it! :o)

  9. farm-witch says:

    Ah – I’ve been doing less singles and more sock yarns for about a year,now – but I love singles. Love them. Love to knit with them, crochet with them and spin them. It’s what I used to spin, exclusively, though now I sort of ping pong back and forth between singles and sock yarn….lately, the singles are winning:)

Leave a comment