April Snow

April Snow is inevitable in these parts. It’s usually the type that falls and melts within a 24 hour span. It started to snow early Wednesday morning. By 2 in the afternoon it was still snowing but melting at the same rate. The roads were clear and there was a little dusting over the lawns.

This morning was a different story.

This past weekend I was playing in this garden:
snowapril_garden
and Baby Boogie was swinging here:
snowaprilplayhouse
Someone didn’t seem to mind
snowdogapril

It’s still falling
snowapril_stillsnow
and there is suppose to be another storm tomorrow. I can’t really take “snow days”. I can’t really use the excuse of “I can’t get into work because of the snow”.

I am thinking of taking a half day and using my patented – “but everyone else gets a snow day so I want one too” excuse.

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to April Snow

  1. Karen says:

    Wow, you guys got a lot of snow! I think you should take a whole day instead of a half. No one will know…and I’ll never tell.

  2. anj says:

    is there a snow snow go away song? WOW. that is alot of snow babe.

  3. Brenda says:

    You definitely deserve the snow day!

  4. Marnie says:

    Everyone deserves a “mental health day” or two.

    This all reminds me why I moved away from NH and to somewhere a little milder. I don’t mind a little winter, I’d just be ready to be done with it by now.

  5. We are having teensy little flurries this morning. Nothing major, just some flurries. The kid’s on spring break, and his grampa came over to pick him up for a day’s activity… and we all went out to breakfast past all of our forlorn yellow tulips, bowing down and taking a nap. I found myself saying, “As long as it’s not a New England-style April blizzard, I’m fine.”

  6. Kate says:

    Can you believe we got this much snow?? I was so shocked when I woke up this morning. I’m worried it will never go away. This is what we get for having such a mild December!

  7. Adrienne says:

    I would love a “LITTLE” snow, but not that much lol

  8. Julie says:

    Do you at least have power? We lost ours sometime during the night and still don’t have any. I had to come to work just to get some coffee!!!

    I had a feeling we’d pay for the nice December and January we had!

  9. Jennifer says:

    That is a ton of snow! Enjoy, I think.

  10. Beth says:

    It’s like Mother Nature has a twisted sense of humor.

  11. Amy says:

    We had April snow one year. It was 90 degreese one day and snowing the next. It would be cruel and unusual punishment to expect you to work on a day like that! Go make snow angels and then curl up on the couch with a warm cup of something and play fiber the rest of the day :D

  12. Sara says:

    It’s still snowing in Augusta, too… *sigh* Our office is running on a skelton crew since most people couldn’t get in this morning, and I am considering just calling in sick tomorrow because I just need a mental health day!

  13. Zonda says:

    Yes, you deserve some time off, tell your boss ;)
    As for the snow, whew, reminds me of being at College in WTVL in April, after we all brought our winter gear home then one of these storms! Stay warm!

  14. Mia says:

    Your snow day excuse works for me. And just think of the snow as not having to mow the grass for awhile longer. :)

  15. LaBean says:

    What in the hill street blues!? *shaking her head in disbelief*. Well, it’s flutterying here too, but DAMN. I don’t know what to say. You know I HATE snow.. :))

  16. nancy says:

    I miss snow days! Loved seeing Sparrow yesterday. Have you see seen this shirt?
    http://www.jinx.com/scripts/details.asp?productID=931

  17. Heather says:

    Take the DAY cutie — you work hard and deserve it. Besides, the munchkins would love you to roll around in the snow with them (I have a feeling you aren’t the wimp I am…hehehe).

  18. Arleta says:

    Ooh, we got hit, too, but not as bad as you did! Spring?

    by the way, I LOVE your new spindle, Sparrow! Gorgeous!!

  19. I did get a snow day, but I think that everyone should have one if they need it. G’head…it’s yucky out there!!!!!

  20. Maryellen says:

    I’ve just decided I’m taking a snow day. Now it’s cold here and there were a few flurries but everyone deseves a snow day snow or not. You do to!

  21. Annaberry says:

    I suppose this would be the wrong time to tell you that it was 70F-ish and sunny here in my corner of the Pacific Northwest today? :D Supposed to be 74F tomorrow. Wanna come visit?

  22. alice says:

    i’m suddenly very glad that i didn’t decide to join the rest of my family in vermont for easter. i’ll wait until next month!

    and hell yes, take the day. everyone needs to call ‘snow-day’ every now and then. i do it even without snow some times!

Leave a comment