Coconut Oil Soap

In the last weaving club we shipped, I sent out a little guest soap with the kit. The kit was for soft washcloths so it seemed appropriate to give out a little of the most delicious facial soap. I don’t usually use soap on my face but I use this soap all over. And if I work out hard or I’ve been cleaning the barn, I do indeed wash my face with this soap. It’s not drying and so I’m ok with using this on my aging face.

I’ve made larger bars to sell in the online store and maybe I’ll bring them to shows too. They’re really pure and simple.

I know some of you make soap yourself so if you want to make your own, the basic recipe is:

33 ounces of Organic Coconut Oil
12.55 ounces of Filtered Water
4.84 ounces of Lye

In a crock, start melting the Coconut oil on low while you take the water and lye outside, add the lye to the water and mix until clear. Let it sit for 15-20 minutes. Once the coconut oil is fully melted and the time has run down on the lye/water mixture (it’s ok if it sits longer) add the water/lye mixture slowly to the coconut oil giving it a few stirs. Then taking an immersion blend, blend to trace. Then leaving the crock on low, let it cook until it’s done. You can tell it’s done by PH testing it to be between 7 and 9. This is a thick mixture that I spoon into my mold and I let it sit to harden. This stuff hardens really really hard. If you’re making a large block mold, you want to unmold earlier than you would for other soaps and cut it. It’s a bear to cut if you let it sit longer.

After unmolding (and cutting) let your soap cure on racks for 2-3 weeks. It does work as soap after 24 hours but curing it ensures you have a good solid bar of soap. You can clean up your tools (that are now dedicated to soap making only, don’t use them for food) with white vinegar. It neutralizes any uncured lye in your measuring cups and it will also help clean the soap off your other utensils.

TAKE NOTE:
This is a pretty straightforward and simple recipe but if you haven’t made soap before please read up on how it’s made and all the precautions. I’ve given only basic instructions here and learning about all the ins and outs of soap making will help ensure your safety. Lye can burn until it’s properly cured as soap. So wear eye goggles and proper gloves while working with it. Just be safe and you’ll have some great soap after all this.

This entry was posted in crafty tutorial, Naturally Spunky, Shopping, Spunky Eclectic. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

