Singles

A few months ago someone in a Facebook group accused me of not having a good understanding of singles yarns and that I obviously hated them when I gave her advice that was contrary to what she was thinking. I think she wanted to argue but I had to laugh and click away. I didn’t want to have a classic Facebook pissing match. Anyone that knows me knows I love singles yarns and have a pretty darn good knowledge of them. I even teach a whole class all about them. Actually now it’s more than I just have a Singles Yarns class on my teaching roster;
I teach the Craftsy class in Singles Yarns.
craftsy-mystar
That’s right! You heard it here first! That’s the class I went to Colorado to teach. That’s the class that will be going live in a couple of weeks. woohoo!!!!

For those not in the know, singles are yarns that are not plied. They are a stand alone single. If you’re a knitter/crocheter that doesn’t spin yet, think of Malabrigo or Noro yarns. If you don’t do anything in the fiber arts singles yarns look like:
mermaids-singles
and like this:
daylily-yarn
But not just limited to those, in the class we did some fancier ones like:
rincewind-sparkle-done
And more. More.

I also talked about the things they make but this post could get really long and picture heavy so I’ll save that for another one. You know I’m going to keep talking about this for a couple of weeks, right? I love this type of yarn and I’m so glad Craftsy chose this class for me to teach. I mean, I loved the Foundations class that I taught (Pssst that’s a discounted link if you want it) but there is something even more special about the Standalone Singles. Singles have a special place in my little black heart.

Stay tuned. I'll have more pics of projects, yarns, and stuff from the Craftsy studio.

This entry was posted in spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Singles

  1. Gloria says:

    The link to your Craftsy class does not work. :)

  2. I can’t wait!!! Congrats again, Amy!

  3. Corinne says:

    Hi Amy,
    First to say; I love your work! My question: I spin a lot of singles but I am to busy with pinning and have not knitted or crocheted them. Do singles stay beautiful after a time wearing it? I am from holland, Sorry if my english is not entirely correct ☺
    Thank you for posting your beautiful work!
    Corinne

  4. Hello Amy,
    First to say, I love your work and thank you for posting it!
    I have a question about the singles: do the stay beautiful especially low twist singles, after wearing a knittingpiece with it? I am very busy spinning singles, but have not knitted or crocheted with it…. Thank you for your answer!
    Corinne

    • Hi Corinne
      We talk about that in the class and having proper expectations for the singles. No, they will not wear the same as a 3 ply yarn but that’s not why we’re making singles right? We want something different. If you don’t care if they wear down quick then make anything you want. If you want something that will last longer, choose a project that won’t be receiving a lot of wear like a scarf or shawl.

  5. Hi Amy,
    Love your work and thanks for posting it!
    Question about singles; I make them very often bur are they staying beautiful after wearing them, especialoloy low-twist singles.
    Thank you for your ansswer!
    Corinne

Leave a Reply

