My New Favorite Salad

bestsaladWhen I was in Philadelphia I was doing a talk one evening and sent my family out to eat while I was busy. I said to just get me something to go. My wonderful husband gambled and got me this salad. Everyone that knows me knows I like greens and stinky cheese so this was a good gamble on his part.

It didn’t come with a recipe but I was able to break it down pretty simply.

Greens*
Miso Dresing
1/2 a Bartlett Pear (soft and thinly sliced)
Dried Cranberries
Pepitas
Gorgonzola

Basically I heap up my greens, toss them in the dressing then throw everything else on top in the order I listed there. I have used Caesar dressing when I was out of Miso and too lazy to make more, it works almost as well. If you want to make a simple Miso dressing you can search out for a bunch of different ones online or here’s one that works for me.

Miso Dressing:
1.5Tbs Miso Paste (I like white for this)
2 Tbs Rice Vinegar (more flavore you can do half rice vinegar, half lime juice)
1 Tbs Honey
1 heaping tsp of fresh grated ginger
2Tbs Sesame oil

For other salads I would add sesame seeds to this dressing but I leave them out because I don’t like them on this salad. I know, they’re such a small thing but sometimes I’m just that picky.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My New Favorite Salad

  1. Kath says:

    Love this! and what timing. I just scored a lovely wedge of Maytag Blue and was wondering how to spend it. This recipe will be on my menu today – despite the fact that it’s 8 degrees outside. Thanks for taking the time to put it together for us.

Leave a Reply

