Caress Sweater

When I started carrying this yarn base, I knew I had to have something in it. And then years passed and I never did anything. Then I finally dyed the yarn for the shop and all my desire for it came flooding back. It’s so soft and drapey. It would be perfect for a shawl. When it came down to it though, I really wanted a lush sweater. I chose to just wing it with a plain raglan pattern. I didn’t need fancy. Just a nice sweater that I could wear over a tank top in the warm months or over a long sleeve in the winter.

Caress-2

I was also a little specific about what I wanted to get out of this.
I wanted the fabric to be a little more open and airy.
I wanted a wider neck but nothing so big as a scoop though that would have worked nicely.
I wanted a long enough body that it wouldn’t ride up all the time.
I wanted the sleeves to be about elbow length.

Such a custom little thing, I figured it was easier to just do this myself than try to find someone that already had.

I realize that some of you might want a sweater like this as well. I haven’t got the time to work out all the sizes but I’m going to give you the basic information so you can make this on your own if you have knitting knowledge. If you aren’t an experienced knitter, I recommend that you find a well written pattern. For reference, I’m a solid medium in general US sizes. I measure at 40-28-39

Gauge (in the round – not blocked)
6.5 SPI and 9 RPI

CO 132
6 rows of 1×1 rib
Knit 1 round and set up for the raglan. The beginning is the middle back. k46, PM, k20,PM, k92, PM, k20, k to end.
Increases every other round look like: *k to one st before marker, kfb, sm, k1, kfb – repeat from * around. Knit to the end.
I continued in this manner until I had worked 7.5 inches (from CO edge). Next round I knit the body while putting the sleeves stitches on holders. I changed the st markers to mark the sides so I could do a little bit of waist shaping. I reduced 4 sts (1 st each side of a side marker) in a round every 6th round.I worked 8 rounds even and then increased every 6 rounds in the same manner. Knit even until I got the length I wanted and then worked 1×1 ribbing for 6 rows. BO loosely in rib.

Sleeves:
Pick up and knit all the stitches plus 4 under the arm to close up the gap. Next round, start decrease. k1, k2tog, work to 3 sts before the end of round, ssk, k1. Work this decrease every 3rd round until you have 62 sts. Work 1×1 ribbing for 2 inches. BO loosely in pattern. Work the other sleeve in the same manner.

Caress-1

Block and wear!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Caress Sweater

  1. Beautiful you are so talented, I love to see what you are up to.

  2. Caroline aka FiberTribe says:

    It’s beautiful! How much yardage did it take?

  3. Katrina says:

    Love your sweater, it looks light, and glamorous and I can.t wait to knit it and tell everyone who asks who designed it.

  4. Katrina says:

    Love the look of your sweater, it looks light and feminine and I can’t wait to make it. I will of course tell all who ask, who designed the pattern. I feel that your sweater will make any outfit look fresh, and glamorous. And will look good as casual, day or evening wear depending on choice of colour and type of yarn used. Well done Amy.
    =

Leave a Reply

