The Spinner’s Book of Fleece (giveaway)

Have you heard of this book by Beth Smith? Sure you have, it’s a really popular book. As you might have noticed, I haven’t been posting a lot up until recently and even though I’ve had this book for a while, I never got around to reviewing it. Then a little while ago, Storey Publishing sent me a copy to review.
beth-1
Now I have 2 copies of this. One signed by Beth and one that I’m going to give to one of you.
First, let me tell you why you want this book.

Beth loves wool. No looooovvvveeeesss wool. Beth and wool sitting in a tree, K-I-S-S-I-N-G …kind of love. You can tell from her book that this is a true fact. She has a lot of technical knowledge and she’s sharing it with us all here. The intro starts with “Spinning with purpose and confidence”. This book will give you the knowledge to do just that.

Chapter 1. The Value of Raw Fleece
Yarn Consistency, Skirting, Scouring, Storage, and Tool information
beth2
Many questions that I get asked all the time about fleece is covered in that section. Though, I have to say one of my favorite parts is the last one about the tools. There’s a few things in there that I forget from time to time because I don’t comb as seriously as Beth does. It’s a good refresher even if you’re experienced.

Chapter 2. Buying a Fleece: Do’s and Don’ts
I’ll admit to getting a less than desirable fleece from time to time simply because of color or breed rareness. I know better but if you don’t then read this section carefully. There are even pictures that help you detail what a problem in a fleece might be.
beth3
Some of them are subtle until you know what you’re doing and this is really helpful.

Chapter 3. Getting to Yarn
This is really where you will start to gain your purpose and confidence. What are you spinning for? Spin with intention for the project at hand and then ply and finish it properly.
beth4
There is some excellent information in this and part of that is taking a look at locks themselves to help you spin a better yarn.

Then Chapters 4 through 8 are the real “meat” of the book. This is where you can see all the efforts that Beth puts into her prep work. I saw a lot of the samples that she made. Her swatches are large and ever so lovely. She shares them all here in these sections. These sections are about the breeds but not just about the breeds. It’s about helping you spin a better yarn from knowing what you’re working with. I really think this is the part of the book that makes it worth it’s weight in gold. You get information about the breeds but better than that, you get how to process, handle, and spin.
beth5
Then the swatches. I might be a little swoony over swatches in case you couldn’t tell.
There’s more than just the standard stockinette. There’s a lace and cables too. Different processing and different spinning shown in its best usage. She really has done all the legwork for us here. But she didn’t just knit. There’s woven swatches too for all of us weavers out there.
beth6

I could probably go on for several more paragraphs but what I need to just tell you is that you should have this book if you don’t already.

If you have it already, post here and tell everyone why they should own it.
If you don’t have it and you want to win it – Leave me a message on the FB post you found this on or email me at boogieknits at gmail dot com. You have until January 4. I’ll announce who is getting a copy of this book on Monday January 5th.

Until then, I leave you with one more picture from the book:
beth7tunis
Tunis. Thanks to Beth, I’m looking to add a few of these darlings to my flock in the spring.

This entry was posted in Reveiws, spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Spinner’s Book of Fleece (giveaway)

  1. Jennifer says:

    I love this book – I already have my copy. Beth is an incredible teacher because her love of fiber translates into her incredible knowledge and attention to detail. I have been lucky enough to take a class with her and would highly recommend that experience to anyone who wants to expand their joy in spinning. To help make every day brighter with Beth’s wit and fibery wisdom, I would highly recommend The Spinner’s Book of Fleece.

  2. Jane Jones says:

    I would love this book. Good luck everyone

Leave a Reply

