One Sock Wonder

This is a knitters term, in case you aren’t familiar with it.
I think it’s mean to be derogatory though I don’t take it as such. It’s more of a statement of how it is. I am a One Sock Wonder. I have the incredible habit of making one sock and moving on without making a second. It’s probably not a good habit. I don’t wear that one sock in a pair with some other one sock. I just let them languish. If we’re being honest here (and I am) I would like to finish a pair of socks sometime. I mean, I used to finish socks in pairs but somewhere along the line, I stopped doing that. I am down to 2 pairs of woolie socks in my drawer. They won’t last forever and more times than I care to think about, I’m wearing some store bought sock (like almost every day). Yeah, I heard that. Someone out there gasped and someone else is now weeping for me a little bit. Thanks guys.

So lets get this walk of (not so much)shame rolling. I dug through all my projects and yanked out the lonely socks. I am in no way guaranteeing that there aren’t more hidden. Those of you that are monogamous to your projects and don’t have a large stash might want to turn away now. I have a massive stash and I have horrible organizational skills. I lose projects. Usually not permanently but they do disappear from time to time. More projects might be hidden away but these are the ones I have found. They’re enough. You’ll see.

Let’s start with the ones that have at least a whole first sock done:
1sock-boucleblue-walkabout
^Blue/white sock:
Yarn: Handspun Boucle and SE Supernova Sock
Colorway: White and Sky
Pattern: None
I last worked on them: over a year ago. I have no idea why I didn’t finish these. I really like them and the first sock went fast.

Browner Sock
Yarn: SE Skinny Sock
Colorway: Walkabout
Pattern: Boomerang (freebie sent with club)
I last worked on them: More than 2 years ago. I have one whole sock and the second one done to the heel. I picked it up when taking the photo and I don’t remember what I was doing. I’ll have to really look at it and count stitches to figure it out.
1sock-handspun
^Yarn: handspun Falkland
Colorway: SE Dithering
Pattern: None
I last worked on them: 2 weeks ago. I have about 5 rows of ribbing done on the second sock. I actually really want to wear these. They’re perfect.
1sock-opal
^Yarn: Opal Sock yarn
Colorway: I don’t remember. I know it’s on the ball band but I already tucked these back away.
Pattern: None
I last worked on them: more than 2 years ago. This is a love lost. I like them but I don’t love them. I need revisit and have a short affair, just long enough to get the pair complete.
1sock-pandastripes
^Yarn: Panda Sock
Colorway: Hidden and Oxblood
Pattern: none
I last worked on them: November 2013. I made this as a sample for the November fiber show and then didn’t make the second sock. Onward and upward to new samples. But I want to wear these and they are really luscious so maybe I just need to get to it.
1sock-summer
^Yarn: Sockotta
Colorway: I don’t know and don’t care
Pattern: none
I last worked on them: More than 2 years ago. These are summer socks. I like wool and I rarely wear socks in summer. I’m not sure what possessed me to get this stuff. It’s nice enough, it’s just not my favorite.

Moving on to the socks that I haven’t even managed to complete ONE…
1sock-tweedyblue
^Yarn: Ball band is missing.
Colorway: Tweedy navy
Pattern: none
I last worked on them: Spring 2013. I thought these might be for Jay but turned out I didn’t have enough yarn and they weren’t big enough anyway. But they’re too big for me. The bright blue is where the afterthought heel goes. If I don’t put that in, I can wear them as a tube sock….
1sock-EK
^Yarn: Handspun  made from Enchanted Knoll Batts
Colorway: Something random.
Pattern: None
I last worked on them: 1 year ago. I love these socks and the yarn. Thing is, I know I don’t have enough and so it’s stalled me. I need to get another set of needles freed, work down the other sock and then I can make up the difference at the toes with something else. Sounds like a plan right?
1sock-hihoriver
^Yarn: Sporty from SE
Colorway: Hi Ho Silver and Riverwalk
Pattern: Broken Seed
I last worked on them: 2 weeks ago. LOVE these socks, the yarn, and the pattern. I do want these finished. The colors aren’t really grabbing me but I love them enough to finish them. Sporty yarn last forever so….
1sock-estuary
^Yarn: SE – Shine
Colorway: Estuary
Pattern: River…something.
I last worked on them: more than 2 years ago. Love the yarn but I’m not loving the pattern.
1sock-dora
^Yarn: SE Super DK
Colorway: Dora
Pattern: none
I last worked on them: More than 2 years ago. This is my favorite sock yarn. Thick and fast and also thick and warm. I have no idea why I never finished these. I found them tucked into a drawer at the shop so maybe I just hid them on myself and that’s why. I know where they are now!
1sock-brown
^Yarn: Cascade 220 Superwash
Colorway: Brown
Pattern: Husbeast
I last worked on them: More than 2 years ago. I dislike this yarn… I don’t hate it. It’s just not my favorite. Paired with these needles though, I do hate it. I’m afraid to change them because my gauge will be so different. Maybe I’ll just go down a needle size and use wooden. hmmm…
1sock-aztecHsp
^Yarn: Handspun Panda from SE and Supernova toes/heels
Colorway: Aztec (handspun) and Lobster (supernova)
Pattern: none
I last worked on them: Probably sometime in the last year or so. I really do love these. These were another pair I had at the shop and forgot about. Time to stop doing that to myself. I have some shawls I hid here as well. Bad. I’m not sure why I’m doing toes and heels in the Supernova. Panda fiber is plenty strong. I think maybe I just wanted to use up some scraps? Sounds plausible.
1sock-moodyfoods
^Yarn: SE Supernova
Colorway: Moody Foods
Pattern:None
I last worked on them: I remember bringing these on a trip someplace and then never toughing them again. More than 2 years for these as well. Love them too much to leave them forever though.
1sock-cherryslush
^Yarn: Whatnot Sock
Colorway: Cherry Slush
Pattern: none
I last worked on them: more than 2 years ago. I used to like the picot tops and now I hate them. I like the yarn too much to make a sock I hate. I made Short RPM socks from the first half of this (which are now in sock heaven). I am ripping this sock.
1sock-2atoncefailure
^Yarn: Something discontinued
Colorway: Blue Sparkles
Pattern: none
I last worked on them: More than 2 years. These were my first experience with 2 socks at the same time on 2 circulars. I got this far before I wanted to strangle myself or someone else with a circular.  You can see I removed one of the socks but by then I hated it so much I was done. I can’t decide if I need to frog or I can plow ahead some day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to One Sock Wonder

  1. Jo-Ann says:

    Suddenly I feel way better about being a one sock wonder myself <3 Thanks!

  2. Tracy says:

    I love, love, love that you have as many socks started as I do (I can reach over and touch four started socks from where I sit at my desk). I don’t *ever* make a second, identical sock. I occasionally make a second sock to use the yarn, but I’m just as apt to make a shawlette out of the leftovers. I never wear matching socks, and I only wear hand knit socks.

    Here’s how I triage my started socks: if I hate the yarn I repurpose the yarn (like the cotton Socketta you seem to love just about as much as I do–it got made into a shawl) or just rip it out and give the yarn away; if I hate the pattern I rip out to the beginning ribbing and use a different pattern; and some will languish in the bottom of my knitting bag or on my pile of projects for a few more years. Every few years I also go into a sock finishing flurry and will do the foot and toe of half a dozen socks in a week.

    Single sock knitters unite!

    –Tracy

  3. Manise says:

    I completely understand…… lol. Fortunately you have waaay more One Sock Wonders than I. :-)

  4. Christine says:

    I can’t tell you how happy this blog post makes me. I started digging out all my almost finished pairs of socks right before SPA and I’ve been zipping along slowly finishing them. It’s nice to know that I’m not alone.

  5. Laurie says:

    I am laughing and laughing with your commentary.

  6. Jennifer says:

    Thank you for this post. When I try to explain to someone why I might have so many things on the needles at any given time (and believe me, they don’t know the half of it), I ask them if they would want to eat the same food for every meal, day after day. Knitting is like that for me. I need to taste different colors and textures depending upon my mood. It’s nice to know I’m in good company. Besides, the rediscovery of my projects in process is an amusing history of where I’ve been.

  7. crafterscupboard says:

    Wow! Thanks for posting this. It is nice to know I am not alone. I have a pair of socks on the needles that I have been knitting on for two or three years. Wait. Maybe it is four. I decided that I was going to bypass second sock syndrome by knitting both at the same time but on separate needles. Yeah…..that I think has just drug this out longer. :)

    Your stash of socks is beautiful!

  8. claudia says:

    I’ve got a sock project that is more than seven years old. Now I don’t feel bad about that one at all.

  9. Leigh says:

    Thank you soooo much for posting this. You’ve totally normalised my impulse to start socks.

  10. Pingback: I made a pair of socks!!! | Amy King

Leave a Reply

