Dumbitious

Ambitious combined with Dumb = Dumbitious. It means you have an overload of ambition. You plan to do more than you realistically can. If you saw my to-do list, you might understand that I live my life dumbitiously. Though I’m not rough with myself when my list just grows instead of decreases. I understand at times that I realistically cannot complete everything I’ve given myself to do. I just like to try sometimes.

Here I’m going to explain some of my list of dumbitiousness for the month of January and February. I’m hoping to have all this stuff done by the end of February and continue to work, get clubs done and get ready for a show. Ready?

KNITTING
Acer in Spunky Eclectic’s new Targhee Classic Yarn that was just released today! It’s also the yarn I used for the new cowl is coming out in February that but I can’t show you that yet.  I’ve started but not knit very far into Acer. I just love that Forest Green. I kind of want to make several sweaters in this color. We’ll start with one though and take it from there.
acer

Owls in Spunky Eclectic’s Biggie yarn that I’m finally making sweater lots. I am not sure why I haven’t in the past because this stuff is seriously nice. I’m going to wear the heck out of this sweater when it’s done. I finished the sleeves first and now I’m almost ready to join the sleeves and body…if I’m lucky, maybe I’ll be on to the owls tonight.
owls1

I have another new yarn that will be released in March. I’m making a super simple shawl out of it and that pattern will be free with the yarn purchase. It’s a massive 250 yard skein of thick and thin chunky yarn. It’s stupendous! We might break it down into 2 skeins so it’s a little easier for people to deal with. Details will come.
giantshawl

Then, I want to make Halliard out of another new Spunky Eclectic Yarn that I haven’t started to fully produce yet but I want it all ready in time to release at SPA.

Oh but that’s not all. I just saw THIS cute post by Bristol Ivy and I have to make that hat. It will be out of the new Targhee classic or maybe the new Big Panda. So far I’ve only dyed up Almost Solids but I’m going to dye up some fabulous handpaint and then you’ll see me sporting that hat….this might not get done before the end of February. Though, it might just end up being my take along project… We’ll see.

SPINNING
I’m still chugging away at the alongs and the challenges. I’m still thinking I can manage a sweater’s worth of woolen spun CVM in fingering weight. So far I have one 1.7 ounce skein done. But it’s 220 yards. I think I only need 1100 yards for the sweater I want to do so that’s only another 10 ounces or so.
woolen2

And I’m working on the Less is More along. I don’t need to finish this one by the end of February but I’m keeping up with it. The skeins finished are SE Standing Stones and SCF Rusted Hulk. The ones on the bobbins are awaiting their plying – HY Still Life and SCF Gunslinger.
lim2
I still have to spin SE “Not Once but Twice” and “Good Evening” and  HY “Burnished before I will make up my mind about what goes into that sweater.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dumbitious

  1. Lynn says:

    I think I’m dumbitious, too. However, the part where I resolved to blog again once a week for 2014? Ha! The computer had conniptions and is still with the computer psychiatrist. Bingo, one thing off the to-do list. That still leaves way too many. However, having too many goals is way more fun than being bored.

  2. Leigh says:

    DON’T SPLIT THAT MASSIVE BALL OF YARN!!! There is just something really compelling about a ball of yarn the size of your head.

Leave a Reply

