Maple Syrup

We tapped our trees for sap again this year. All in the pursuit of this golden delicious syrup:
syrup2

We had better luck than last year using an electric stove so our syrup boiled down at a more even rate. If you do this and you have an electrical hookup outside or can run an extension cord to a single electric burner, it’s worth it. The gas stove just wasn’t a happy way to do this with all the wind and whatnot. Also my aunt gave us the hint that it’s best not to keep adding fresh sap to a bucket you’re already boiling down. Once you start boiling, let it go and only combine at the end when you’ve got it all boiled down to the same level. Smart. I think that helped us this year too.

syrup

We tapped the sugar maples and 2 of the red maples this year. I didn’t have enough spiles and buckets to do more trees or I would have tapped every maple type tree on the property. I bought 10 new spiles and hose set ups for next year. My next order to Uline will include some colorful buckets. 2014 will be a banner syrup year for us if I manage to tap all the trees I want to.

We still don’t have a ton of syrup but it will last a while. I think we got close to 9 pints but that’s just an estimate. Jars have been consumed and there are some at my parents and inlaws, and some at our house. I see lots of pancakes and granola in our future.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Maple Syrup

  1. Manise says:

    What fun! My cousin does this too and his yields were fantastic last year. Many days of evenings devoted to boiling syrup, taking over the kitchen after dinner etc….. nothing better tasting.

  2. Lynn says:

    My parents near Philly tap their red maples every year. They only get two or three pints, but that’s enough to last them a year (they’re not from New England). Maybe I need some waffles this weekend….

  3. Leigh says:

    I had no idea that’s how you get maple syrup! Can you show meow of the process next year?

  4. Kathy says:

    Yummy! That sounds like it’s fun to do and even more fun to have and eat!

Leave a Reply

