Zoom Loomin’

Maybe you’ve heard about this loom already, maybe not. I think it’s worth hearing about, though. It’s a new pin loom put out by Schacht, made here in the US. When it was first announced, I didn’t think too much about it. I thought ‘this will be good to do samples’, and didn’t think I’d be nearly as entranced as I am. When they came in, I picked it up to do a sample. I wanted to learn a bit in case anyone asked me about it. Since that first square, I’ve come up with a million plans of what I want to make and what I want to do with this.

zoomloom

Instead of rewriting everything Schacht has done, THIS is their newsletter that is featuring the Zoom Loom. If you want to see how it works, THIS You Tube Video, is their informational tutorial about the zoom loom and how to use it. I watched it before I started then followed the directions that came with the loom and it set up ridiculously quickly.

This is my first square:
zoomloom-square
It clearly needs a little blocking but I was so excited that I just had to take a quick photo.

Denise says in the video that once you get started you won’t want to stop and she’s right. The only thing that’s kept me from it is work and some special dyeing that I’m doing (which I hope to talk about soon).

I found more of this burgundy handspun and I know have more somewhere in the shop stash. I think it needs to become THIS shawl by John Mullarky. It is first on my agenda. I think the joining yarn might need to be something sparkly.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Zoom Loomin’

  1. maryse says:

    damn you! i want one!!

  2. earthchick says:

    Wow! This is so cool! I hadn’t heard about these yet. And of course now I want one.

  3. Tina says:

    What fun and now I want one too!

  4. CraftyGeek says:

    Had to order one. What a great recommendation!

  5. Amy O says:

    You ALMOST have me thinking about weaving again…

  6. laceknitter says:

    have you seen the eloomanation site

  7. Rachel says:

    I have two of the weave-it and I think the Schacht version looks more comfortable to hold. My only problem with weaving little square is I haven’t liked any of my attempts to sew squares together.

Leave a Reply

