Spin Control

Remember that little book I wrote?
It looks like this:
BOOK-cover
Remember it now?
Did you even connect that I was the one that wrote it?

It is essentially out of print. Not really. It’s out of physical print but it’s in e-print.

This is not my decision so sending me emails asking why I did this doesn’t really help. I was very attached to this book at one time and was really sad for a while there while I was trying to figure out all the details of the way this book would or wouldn’t be sold any longer. I was disappointed at Interweave’s decision but they own the rights to it so they can do as they wish. I tried to get it reprinted or work a deal to have it reprinted myself. There is no demand to have it reprinted. I get a handful of emails a month about this but I’m sure that’s not enough to get it reprinted and really, since I tried my best, emailing me isn’t the best option to get this reprinted. I’m not even sure emailing Interweave at this point would help either.

I do appreciate those that really like this book, so all that sent me messages of love, thank you.

I’m not bashing Interweave and their decisions, so please don’t leave comments where you do either. They are a business. They need to make money and their decision, while it was an emotional one for me, was a business one for them. I’m just stating the facts.

I get emails lamenting the cost of the book on Amazon, this also is not my doing. I am sorry that people have raised the price of this book so much but I can’t tell people what to do. All of it really is out of my hands. I may have written the book and made the yarn to photograph but any decision now, doesn’t belong to me. If you’d like to send emails of accusation or snarkiness, please direct them properly. I have a few copies left in the shop for sale at their original cover price and once they’re gone, I cannot get any more.

THE GOOD NEWS!
Interweave decided that this book would be kept in e-print. You can go order the e-book on their site HERE Yes, I know it’s not the same but maybe this is better. It’s all in how you view it. You can take it to Kinkos and have it printed as you like with a spiral binding if you want. You can set up your ipad near your wheel and use the guides in the book to help you. You can have it on your computer and print off just the pages you need to help you instead of having to handle the whole book at your wheel’s side.

I suppose anything is possible and Interweave might change their mind but I’m not holding my breath and you shouldn’t either. So go buy the ebook, ask them to reprint, or search for a reasonably priced copy in print. -OR- There are other great books out there and one such book is Sarah Anderson’s book. The Spinner’s Book of Yarn Designs. She covers more yarn than my book did and she’s a fantastic teacher. I heartily recommend her book. Maybe we can keep her book in print.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Spin Control

  1. Manise says:

    So glad I have a copy of your book and am sad it’s out of print in book form. Glad there’s an e-book version for those who missed out.

  2. Caitlin says:

    I just wanted to say that I love your book and it has really helped me–when I got it I was a beginner and I think I’ve advanced quite a bit thanks to the information in it. I’m also glad it’s available as a e-book.

  3. Lynn says:

    Remember it? Hell, I LOVE that book! I’m glad it will live on as an e-book (after paper is better, harrumph, harrumph) and I want you to think hard about writing and self-publishing another book. I’ll even copy-edit it for you, OK?

  4. Lynn says:

    That’s “although paper is better” – sigh….

  5. Emily says:

    I love the book, which has been on my shelf since I first learned to spin! I also recently picked up a copy of The Spinner’s Book of Yarn Designs, and it’s also excellent. It’s cool that these resources are available at all. Otherwise, it’d be…what?…trial and error, I guess (and mostly error, in my case, heh).

Leave a Reply

