I’m still here

How many times have I written that?
I can answer that, countless times. Sometimes I kept it to myself and sometimes I posted here. Blogging used to be something that I did without even thinking. A couple of times each week I’d sit in front of my computer and I would just write. In the beginning I’m not sure anyone was reading. In the middle somewhere there was a fair amount of readers and now, I think we’re back to how it was in the beginning…. crickets….

I said, and I maintain, that when I write I do it for me. I’ve still been writing, I just really do it for me. I have gone back to paper and pen over the past year or so. Sometimes I write a few sentences and then sit there and think… When I think with a journal page in front of me, a lot of times it’s as if I’m writing a blog post. I’m always writing ‘to’ someone. It just happens that someone is usually little old me these days.

Recently I’ve gotten more questions about spinning, weaving and knitting. There’s been more interest in maybe hearing what I have to say. I answer the questions but it might be helpful to have a blog post to point to. There’s a few that I’ve done in the past that I readily point to and it would be nice to have a few more.

I suppose I feel like I need to be useful if I’m going to blog to the public again. I already write for myself, but to be public, I’d like it to have a purpose.

I know I’ve posted before and given a list of things I’d like to write about or sewing tutorials and what not I had planned to do. And then….I’ve never done them. This time, I’ve started writing a few posts already. I figure if I’ve got a couple of tutorials and posts already written, this might happen.

I’m going to click that button in the right hand corner that says “publish”. Next week, I’ll come back here and I’ll hit that button again on another post. It will be more than just a bunch of words but I can’t guarantee it will be a lot more than that.

In the meantime I have some Knitting
knitting
and Spinning to work on
spinning
See? More posts are coming.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I’m still here

  1. Manise says:

    Me too!!! I hadn’t realized you moved the blog, as I use Ravelry as my “bloglines” and you aren’t posting to Rav anymore. I have you bookmarked now. Mwah!

  2. Lesley says:

    I’m here! And, I hear you. I’ve been struggling with the bloglife lately myself. I bet you don’t have any crickets, but I definitely do. Ahahaha.

    xx

  3. AlpacaKath says:

    I enjoy reading you, pretty much no matter what you write!

  4. Jennifer says:

    I understand your feeling that your blog posts need to be useful. I feel the same way which is why I haven’t blogged in two years. The funny part is, I would read your blog whether your posts were instructive or simply reflective. I enjoy ‘hearing’ your voice. Thanks for continuing to share.

  5. Tina says:

    I’m here too and totally understand about posting. I tend to go on spurts, blog a lot then slow way down as I simply don’t have much to say. I look forward to reading more posts :)

  6. Emily says:

    Chirp! Chirp! Always happy to read what you have to say, whether it’s once a week or once a month. Looking forward to more with everyone else :)

  7. Julia says:

    And another chirp from the appreciative crickets!

  8. zardra says:

    I often wonder if anyone is reading my blog, too, but I decided awhile ago that my blog was the place for me to record my thoughts about my knitting and spinning that didn’t fit in my project notes on Ravelry. I’ve been trying to get better about reading and commenting on people’s blogs that are still going these days. So, if you keep writing, we’ll still be out here.

  9. crafterscupboard says:

    :) Welcome back! :)

Leave a Reply

