Mittens done

Mawitten 1:
mawitten-1done
I’ve finished the first mitten but as this colorway only had 1 ounce, I’m not doing a second. It is a luscious mitten and very gorgeous to wear. It didn’t take all of my one ounce to finish it, and you may also notice that it has a long cuff on it. It will take me close to 2 ounces to make a pair since this is exactly how I will make a pair for myself.

Yes, I will be making myself some. The greatest annoyance was how much the silk stuck to my hands and nails. It really showed how little care and attention I pay to my hands. I’m going to work on softening them and make myself a funky pair of mittens using a bunch of potlucks.

Also, I think a tighter gauge would have been nice. Not that these don’t feel fabulous as they are. Just in a tighter gauge I think they’d be prettier. This yarn is not very stretchy so it can get a little tiresome to work with if you’re used to wool. But it holds it’s stitches and if you have to frog, it’s very forgiving.

All in all, the end product is way worth any small aggravation that I might have had while knitting them.

When I was weaving in the ends on those, I figured I might as well weave in the ends on mittens I finished some time the end of last year:
progression-mittens
More on those another time.

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mittens done

  1. Spiderlady says:

    Those are gorgeous, I plan on making mine with a double cuff, because silk has no memory. wool on the inside and then silk outside, it should hold the cuff more secure.

  2. Liz says:

    I’m thinking about knitting mine top-down. I think this is a rough time of year for everyone’s hands. Mine are pretty chewed, too.

  3. Beverly says:

    Fabu! My fiery fiber is due to arrive on my birthday–best present! I can’t wait to get started on my own mittens!

  4. Manise says:

    Cool mittens! Sad about all of the Tramadol pop ups. Must be so frustrating for you.

Leave a Reply

