Plying is boring

That’s not to say that I don’t ply. I love a gorgeous plied. My favorites are tightly plied 2 ply yarns or gorgeous round 3 ply yarns. I love them, I truly do. But, you can see my eyes glaze over and the bored teenager look cross over my face when I start to ply. I wait til the last possible minute. I will buy new bobbins just so I can put off plying a little bit longer. I have 2 main wheels that I spin singles on that will eventually be plied and I have 14 and 11 bobbins for those wheels. The wheel I generally ply on has 6 bobbins. That is 3 more than it came with and the reason I have more bobbins for that is because the only thing more boring that plying is winding into a skein!

Seriously I must be a spoiled brat. But I’m willing to be more spoiled. If I was wealthy, I would have a butler that would wind all my yarn for me. I would still ply because although it bores me, I’m picky about how it’s plied. But winding, I would be ecstatic to never have to do that again.

Despite all that, I have managed to make yarn and wind it off into skeins. All by myself. No butler involvement. PLIED yarn even….

bowlofscf
Southern Cross Fibres
club – Polwarth Silk
4 ounces of 2 ply

fi-shetland
Can you see a sweater hanging there? I can.
5 colors of shetland. Natural black and 4 almost solids for a fair isle.
4 ounces of each color in a tight 2 ply. I have 2 more skeins of the black to finish plying.


I don’t want to spoil anyone so you have to click the little spoiler sheep to see the real photo.
Spunky Eclectic club
January 2011
Navajo Plied – No more details because it did just ship.

Also I did manage to wind off 4 ounces of singles
johnonmycouch
Shetland silk
Southern Cross Fibres in “John”

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Plying is boring

  1. random Cindy says:

    How funny! I love plying. Love that SCF gold, looks so warm.

  2. Plying IS boring. BOOOOOOOORING. And it takes 8 million years. If only I didn’t prefer plied yarns for most things.

  3. David says:

    I’m totally in love with those Shetland semi-solids. Didn’t I spin some of that Polwarth/Silk on your Matchless when I was at your house 18 months ago? You’re so slack :P

  4. Heather says:

    Love the shetland semi-solids. It will make a beautiful fair-isle.

  5. Michelle Tourigny says:

    I disagree…..l LOOOOOVVVVE plying. I prefer plying to making the singles. you can send your singles to me if you like…I could ply all day long!
    michelle

  6. Faith says:

    They’re all lovely, but the Shetland is especially crazy beautiful.

    I bought a few extra bobbins for my wheel, but I must admit — I spin to see the finished skein, so I drive on past the boredom…when I DO spin. Right now I’m knitting with some handspun, and have been taking longing glances at my wheel. It’s been months since I spun last, and working with my handspun again makes me itch for the wheel!

Leave a Reply

