My New Jacket

About an hour up the road a piece there is a woolen mill with an outlet store. They have piles and stacks of folded end pieces of wool. It just so happened that also in that town was a vet that was taking care of a dog that I had. My sweet dog needed to have surgery and I was very nervous and also very pregnant with BabyBoogie. I decided that as a treat I’d stop at the woolen mill and pick myself up something. I got a lovely charcoal grey piece and a beautiful hideous green one.

This was about 6 years ago.

Flash to today and I’ve finally made a jacket from the charcoal piece.
jacket2
My model was too short for the jacket. Luckily I had a Sephora box laying around the shop.

I had started to make it a year or two ago. Long enough that I think the pattern I used has been discontinued.
jacket-pattern3563simplicity
I was stalled when I decided that I wanted to line the jacket and it didn’t call for a lining. I had to come up with my own way to line it and I did. It wasn’t as simple as cutting a second set of pieces as the jacket has welts.
jacket-frontwelts
Glorious welts on the front and on the sleeves.
jacket-sleevewelts
I love the welts
jacket-front
I’m not sure what finally spurred me into finishing it but I did and I quite like it.
jacket-me
Though, I’m not in love with the buttons and will be on the lookout for something fabulous to replace them with. Now I’m already thinking of my next jacket. I have a piece of yellow wool that I found in a bag of cloth gifted to me from a neighbor. I might have enough for a small swing coat. I have a thing for winter coats. I know I’ll be making more.

This entry was posted in sew crazy. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to My New Jacket

  1. Alexa says:

    Very cute! What town is the woolen mill in? My sister goes to school in Maine, and I might be able to convince her to get me some thick woolen goodness for a coat for me.

    Thanks!

  2. Emily says:

    Oh, Amy that is fabulous!

  3. Jennifer says:

    It’s wonderful!!!!

  4. Boogie says:

    The woolen mill is in Norway Maine. It’s simply called the Woolen mill outlet and the signs for it have a cute little lamb on them.

  5. Alison says:

    LOVE it! Embarrassingly, I think I have the same pattern hanging around somewhere at the back of the pattern stash. I see jackets in my future…

  6. LaBean says:

    Very nice jacket! I’ve been thinking about making a winter coat and this certainly gives me some motivation. Glad it worked out for you!

  7. Denice says:

    You are so friggin’ talented!! (bowing to the queen). :-) It looks perfect on you! Nice work.

  8. K says:

    Super cute! It’s got both flair and flare. How *did* you wind up doing the lining?

  9. random Cindy says:

    Nice! You make that pattern look cool, I probably would have overlooked it based on the scary eighties colors, lol.

  10. Julie says:

    Looks fabulous Amy! Great job, love the welts.

  11. Boogie says:

    I realized that I didn’t tell you all how I did the lining after all. Well, I think I’m going to make my yellow jacket from this pattern. I’m going to modify the green one into a swing coat. I want it fully lined too so I’ll photo document it as I go. Now, someone just send me some time and I’ll get that done right off.

  12. tiffaney says:

    Oh Amy I really like this! You do great work my friend.

  13. DebbieB says:

    The welts are awesome.

  14. craftycarole says:

    wow… love the coat..cute, stylish and warm I bet.
    If you find some of that time, could you let me know where you picked it up?? I could use some myself ;)

  15. Donna says:

    You are so talented Amy! What a cool coat!

  16. Karen says:

    It came out great! You did some really nice sewing!

Leave a Reply

