Advent Calendars

Were you reading last year when I had a little fit because I didn’t have an Advent calendar and for some reason I felt I had to have one? This is last year’s calendar. I wanted something different for this year. I gotta get rid of the Halloween candy some how. I’ve come in just under the wire with this one

Holiday tin Advent calendar

advent-prettypaper
To do it like I did, you’ll need a few things.
8 each of small, medium and large tins
a bunch of scrapbook papers
ribbons/bows/rick rack
scissors, cutters, templates, xacto knife
glue
magnets or velcro (optional)
any other miscelaneous supplies you think will look good on your tins
stamps and ink pads for the numbers
patience with the kids.
advent-setup

I cut up some of the paper stuff before I let the kids anywhere near it.
Strips for gluing around the sides:
advent-paperforbottomedges
and some circles for the tops:
advent-cutcircles

We glued the circles onto the tops of the tins and started to decorate them.
advent-gluepaper
Some of the circles stayed down well and others needed help (a coffee cup works great just don’t spill your coffee). All the side strips needed to be rubber banded on so they stayed.
advent-gluedrying

Both girls got to do what they wanted.
advent-busyhands
I did some and I divided up the rest so they would have equal amounts (no fighting!!!)
advent-busy hands

Some were really simple:
advent-simple
And others a tad more elaborate:
advent-elaborate
After a couple of hours all 24 were done. I stamped the numbers on them and then flipped them over the magnet backs.
advent-magnets

I think they all came out pretty well and really show off my kids’ personalities.
advent-thewholebunch

My plan is to dig out a metal tree that I have. I used to work in the office of a machine shop and the workers made metal cut out trees one year. I was a lucky recipient (they received big batches of cookies). I didn’t want to make the tins a permanent addition to the tree or I could have simply glued them all on. With the magnets these would be perfect to put on a fridge for the holiday season. Now I just need to fill them. Candies, quarters, or other little notes and goodies. That’s tonight’s job.

Don’t like this idea? There are a ton more out there.
Mini tins
Felt Circle gardland
Small Envelopes
The Cone Tree
Blog post with a ton of ideas!
Little Pockets These are great little giftie wrappers. I think they’d be great as a set for an advent calendar.

Next post, I’m going to have more goodies for shopping for that fiberist on your list.

This entry was posted in Handmade Holiday. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Advent Calendars

  1. Lynn says:

    I love that idea! I think I need an advent calendar like that, only stuffed with an ounce each of yummy fiber, just enough to spin in one night. Maybe with random gingerbread cookies now and then, to give me time to catch up on the spinning.

    (P.S.: You are SUCH a good mom!)

  2. Scott says:

    That is a wonderful advent calendar. It’s a wonderful use for the metal tree too. I’d love to see a picture of all of the tins on the tree.

  3. Connie Sorum says:

    Watching the wire now. Never thought I would get into this.

  4. I love it, it turned out really cute! I am working on getting ours finished up but am not letting the boys participate this year ;) It’s cool to see how you involved the kiddos with creating this one!

Leave a Reply

