Lets shop patterns

Lets do a little shopping today. Not a lot, just a little. This is mostly still about being handmade.

While you still have some time to knit and spin stuff (I don’t think I need to tell you where to get supplies do I?) I want to share some ideas and quick patterns. Things that you can make for your loved ones (or at least ones you like well enough to make them something).

These links are Ravelry links that I’ve pulled right from favorites, my projects and my queue there. Some are free and some are not. All are fabulous.
Esker Scarf, Isar Crocheted Scarf, Crocheted Hello Kitty Scarf and Bag, Captiva Wrap, Sweetgum, Eternity Scarf, Chevalier Mittens, Circle Crochet Scarf, Urchin, Lumps and Bumps Mitts or mittens, Anne Crochet Scarf, Fetching Mitts, Muffin Top, Top Down Bonnet, Wintergreen Mittens, Guernsey Socks, Flutter Scarf, Balsam, Diamonds and Shells Scarf….And there are so many more ideas. If what I posted wasn’t exactly what you’re thinking of, use the pattern search option.

If you have a little more time:
Aphrodite – I linked to one that was made using handspun from a Spunky club option that is just gorgeous.
Darling Darby Sweater – for all those pooches that need pampering.
Iced – this was a really quick knit. Bulky with little shaping. It’s all knit knit knit like mad and voila, you’re done!
Vine Lace Vest – Gorgeous smallish big knit.
Colonade Shawl – I have the yarn spun and the pattern printed just waiting to make this.

I couldn’t list all my favorite big patterns either but you get the idea.

If you’re looking to gift something to a fiberist that isn’t handmade, Ravelry has the option on paid patterns that you can send a gift one to someone. Also you could buy a subscription to a magazine or get any one of the new fabulous books that are out. Only you know who you are gifting to (ask them to make a wishlist if you’re not sure). Here’s a run down of some of my favorites:
*Wanna spin? – Go for Start Spinning by Maggie Casey
*Spindle Spinner? – Choose Respect the Spindle by Abby Franquemont
*Wanna spin better with control? – Spin Control by Amy King (you know I had to put that in there)
*Got a technical spinner on your hands? – The Big Book of Handspinning by Alden Amos
*Rigid heddle Weaver? – The Weaver’s Idea Book by Jane Patrick
*Established weaver that wants to advance? – Mastering weave structure by Sharon Alderman

There are so many pattern books out there for knitters and crocheters. It’s hard to pick the ones that your specific giftee would want. My favorite sock book is “Knitting on the Road” by Nancy Bush, My favorite shawl book is “Folk Shawls” by Cheryl Oberle, My 2 favorite books full of info and patterns are “Knitters Book of Yarn” and “Knitters Book of Wool” by Clara Parkes. If your giftee doesn’t have pattern books, like the 4 written by Barbara Walker or the Harmony guides then I think that would be a fantastic gift. I have them all and I use them constantly. Alice Starmore’s “Aran Knitting” is back in print, and coveted by many. I just want to mention a couple of new books that your crafter giftee may not have “New England Knits”, “Knitting it Old School”, “Entree to Entrelac”, “Modern Top Down Knitting”, and “Vampire Knits” to name a few. There are so many more out there that I just cannot mention all the fabulous books here. Can you tell that I love craft books?

If you have a crafter that is thinking of starting to crochet, knit or spin – get them a “learn to…” kit. We have some in the shop for Spinners and would be happy to help you put something more custom together if you like. Knitters and crocheters – there are tons of beginning books and yarns here and there. Find your local yarn shop and ask them to put a kit together for you. Maybe with some lessons. Which brings me to another great gift idea. The gift of learning. Get your giftee lessons in the craft of her/his choice.

You may notice I left out the Learning to Weave. Weaving is a tad more expensive to start if you get a loom. A rigid heddle in the low range is over $100 but it’s a fantastic gift for a new weaver. Before you get that, talk to your local weaving shop or a respected seller online and find out what is the best option there. If they’re an established weaver, get a yarn kit. Kit to make scarves, towels blankets etc are great gifts.

Next time I post, I promise to have a new tutorial of something you can make.

This entry was posted in Handmade Holiday. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lets shop patterns

  1. DebbieB says:

    Great ideas, Amy! Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

