Garden walk

Let’s take a quick walk through the garden.
garden-oh-garden

I’m sharing a garden with my mom this year. We get busy at different times of year so it usually works out that one of us has to watch the other’s garden. So if we combine it, all is well right? So far so good. Plus she has a killer spot and things grow like crazy. Proof?

Lets start with the pumpkins. So big they’re growing out on the lawn – these little twins have had a scrape with the lawn mower.
garden-pumpkintwins

How big is the patch really? Baby Boogie is pretty big
garden-massivepumpkinpatch

And 10goingon20 is almost as tall as I am
garden-overthepumpkins

I hunted around for more pumpkins and squash hiding away in the tangle of pumpkin jungle. There were a few – check out the jungle with promise of much more!
garden-pumpkinland

At the edge of the jungle on one end is a flourishing watermelon plant. Looks as though they’ll all be ready at once too!
garden-watermelon

I forgot to take a picture of my Eggplant plant which isn’t so impressive now that I’ve plucked 3 perfect eggplants from it today. But I did get one of my giant brussel sprout ‘trees’
garden-brussels

And lets not forget the reason I went out there, the green beans. They need one more picking on this row and in another week or 2 the second row should start producing if they’re not completely over run by the pumpkins.
garden-thegreenbeans

Finally, the tomatoes. My Mom goes nuts over the tomatoes and it’s always a massive jungle:
garden-tomatopatch

No really, massive:
garden-serioustomatopatch

And full of gorgeous tomatoes:
garden-tomatoes

That’s not all the veggies we have growing so far. There’s herbs, beets, celery, carrots, kale, chard, cukes…… So much coming ready right now! My spare time will be spent in the kitchen cooking meals now and canning for later. I have a new recipes that I want to try. If they work out, I’ll let you know.

This entry was posted in food storage, life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Garden walk

  1. random Cindy says:

    So will you be offering canned veggies in the shop? ;-)

  2. Manise says:

    A great solution the garden sharing is! So lush and thriving beautifully! And you don’t have a spot of tomato blight either. Lucky duck.

  3. Annalea says:

    And somebody has been weeding . . . it’s beautiful! Gotta love that black soil.

  4. heather says:

    i bet you and your mom get busy at different times of the year.

  5. lisa says:

    ‘almost as tall as I am’… but you’re SHORT! bwa hahahahahaha.

    LOVELY garden~!

Leave a Reply

