Rainbow cake

This was brilliant. BRILLIANT.
Rainbows! Look!
rainbowcake-innards

I didn’t think it was so brilliant at first. I so didn’t think this cake was going to be edible. I thought it was going to be such a disaster that at the last minute I made up “backup cake”. yeah. I thought it was going to be that bad. But it wasn’t. It was exactly the cake that the 10 year old wanted. Brilliant. I wish I had taken a photo of the cake before it was thrashed into. It was quite cute with it’s blue frosting and pretty fluffy white clouds:
rainbowcake-clouds

Wanna make one? Yes you do. No really, you do.

Ingredients (this is essentially a white cake batter and you’ll need to make 2 batches of this)
1 1/2 cup white sugar
3/4 cup butter
4 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3 cups all-purpose flour
2.5 teaspoons baking powder
3/4 cup milk

For my cake I used Cherry, Orange, Lime, and Berry Blast. **Note: We got the idea from American Girl magazine advert – there was a note that said to not use grape. I’m not sure why, but my guess is that it would be horrible tasting in the cake.

Directions
1.Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour two 9×9 inch pan
2.In a bowl, cream together the sugar and butter. Beat in the eggs, one at a time, then stir in the vanilla. Combine flour and baking powder, add to the creamed mixture and mix well. Finally stir in the milk until batter is smooth.
3.Pour half the batter into a separate bowl. Add in packet of whatever jello flavoring. May need to add food color as well so that it’s bright enough. The only one in my cake that I had to color was the blue. Color each half differently or use 2 packets of the same and make one cake all one flavor.
4. Pour batter into the pans (one flavor per pan, or you could marble them, that would be different).
5. Bake for 20-30 minutes or until your toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

This cake has a different texture to it. Thanks to the jello and it’s mildly flavored.
Try it. It’s different. The kids and adults all really liked it.

Oh, and the frosting. I made 3 batches of regular butter cream. About 3/4 of one batch was colored yellow for in between the layers. Another 1/3 or so was left white for the clouds. The rest was blue for the sky. This cake is a behemoth measuring 9 inches in diameter and almost as tall.

Are you still reading? What are you waiting for? Go make cake.

This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rainbow cake

  1. Lisa says:

    That is so adorable. I almost wish I had kids so I’d have an excuse to make one! I’m not quite sure how rainbow cake would fly with the hubby. :)

  2. lisa says:

    What color did you all pee?

  3. Ezara says:

    That looks amazingly good!

  4. ocbchick says:

    I think the purple turns a muddy brownish color. Not very rainbowish at all!

Leave a Reply

