Once a Month?

But better than a menstrual cycle. Well, only slightly. My pictures are so awful you might get cramps from them.

I keep meaning to post more than once a month it just seems that I don’t have anything I think is blog worthy happening or I get too involved in other things. I try to keep a lot of the business stuff to a minimum but at times when I’m working alot, it’s all I have. Luckily right now I have a lot of garden and such that I can talk about.

BLUEBERRIES!!!
Every year my Aunt goes up north and gets us blueberries – Wild Maine Blueberries. Not that I needed to describe what kind they are because there is no other kind. Don’t argue with me, there is no other kind worth blogging about. I got 15lbs. It’s not been washed or picked over so that’s the first thing we need to do, dump it in the sink:
washingberries
Remove stems and hard berries (until you get tired of it, then you just throw it all in)
blueberriesinthepot
I packed up 5 quarts for the freezer, the rest went into the blueberry lime you see in that pot up there. It’s so darn good. And it’s the one jam that sets up reliably for me every year:
jam-bluelime-jelled
I forgot how much I did now. I think there were 5 or 6 full pints and 5 or 6 half pints. Lots of jam!
jam-bluelime-pints

NEXT!
Up next in the canning expedition is to take care of the green beans. maybe put up some pesto and then I have a request. NJStacie wants some Tomolives. We picked a bunch for experimentation the other day:
maybe-for-tomolives
Once I figure out a good recipe, I’ll let you know.

THE BAG
thebag
I had to change it. I made it more square, I got rid of the zipper and added a flap from the collar of the jacket (gotta love those wide 70’s collars). I need to find a button I like for the flap. I sewed the collar together but I left a hole for a large button. Hopefully the button I fall in love with will be the right size. I also altered the strap. I added another clip to it to make 2 handles from the one tie. One handle makes it an 8 or 9 inch drop and the other strap is so I can wear it across my body. Terrific for trudging through the airport from terminal A to terminal “way the hell over there in another time zone”.

THE KNIT/SPIN
4-oz-challenge
The 4 ounce challenge starts today. More info is on Ravelry HERE The photo above shows what I’m working on. I can’t be a part of the contest but I can play along and cheer on all the participants. Then at the end, I’ll hopefully have a good working pattern. Stay tuned.

This entry was posted in food storage, Knitting, sew crazy. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Once a Month?

  1. random Cindy says:

    I really want to play. May have to send my friend over to pick out some fiber. I dropped a glass candle holder/paperweight thingy on my toe this morning. The last time any part of my body has hurt so much I was in labor. At least my hands are nearly back to normal!

  2. TheBon says:

    One thing I discovered about the tomolives while googling to see if anyone had posted any kind of recipe is that they seem to be brined like an olive instead of pickled like a cucumber and that they also say that it takes almost a year from harvest for them to be ready to eat because it’s a dual brining and aging process.

  3. naomi says:

    Those look great! But I would argue that wild Vermont blueberries, though less common, are also excellent.

Leave a Reply

