Mama's new bag

I wanted a new bag. Ok, I fess up, I almost always want a new bag. I am perfectly willing to construct my own. Which also means I have a ton of bags. This time I wanted a leather bag but I wasn’t sure how I was going to go about finding the material I wanted.

A $5 jacket at Goodwill was the answer.
thejacket

There were far more expensive jackets but this one was a belted button up jacket devoid of buttons or a belt. The belt would have made a great handle/strap but I wasn’t going to cry over small details. I happen to have about 60 men’s vintage ties (don’t ask) and I knew I had to have one that would work.

I set about cutting out the lining:
jacket-removinglining
Which I saved. It would have been a great lining material if I hadn’t had some great skully stuff that was dying to become something. Then I cut out all the little icky parts that I wouldn’t be able to use:
jacket-ickystuff
This is what I was left with:
jacketbag-pieces
Great usable pieces of leather. Once I had these I set about putting together the front – the only thing I knew I had to have and then worked the rest of the pieces around it. I didn’t have a pattern just an idea. I have a few pieces of leather left over too. My machine was being pretty finicky about working on the leather so it’s going out for a cleaning while I head out on my grand trip to Convergence and Michigan to teach. When I get back I will finish up the small details to make it a polished bag or even pull it apart to completely reconstruct it.

You see, I thought it was too small, and monkied with it till it was larger. But it’s too large now for what I was thinking and I don’t like the “decorative” details I did at the top. Just looking at it sitting across from me, I want to head down to the sewing room and start taking it apart now. I’m going to use it the rest of this week and it will probably go back under the knife before I head out on my trip if I have time.

Front:
jacketbag-front
Back:
jacketbag-back

The pictures don’t show that it’s larger on the bottom than on the top. I have another bag that’s like that. It’s a little hard to get into when it’s chock full (no matter what size bag I have, I’ll fill it) but it’s also hard for things to fall out so I don’t mind the small difficulty. Still I think I’d like it to be more square and less big. Maybe I’ll just have to go to Goodwill and find me another jacket to slice and dice. This would be a great overnight luggage sort of bag.

This entry was posted in sew crazy. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Mama's new bag

  1. Emily says:

    Wow, that is an awesome bag! You haz the talent :)

  2. random Cindy says:

    I say leave well enough alone! Nice slice and dice job.

  3. Mary-Heather says:

    That’s an awesome bag! Love it.

    Also, dude, you’re coming to Convergence? I live here yo! I’m definitely coming by on Saturday, doing a Ravelry meetup, and checking out the marketplace. How long will you be in town?

  4. Jennifer says:

    This is fantastic! I love the men’s tie strap.

  5. Kara says:

    Fantastic!!

  6. lisa says:

    Your new gym bag… with the executive tie accessory.

  7. Dulcy says:

    Wow, that is totally awesome! You are so making me want to head down to Goodwill and dust off my sewing machine, and have some fun!!!!!

  8. Vicki says:

    Wow. That’s pretty amazing!!!

  9. Wendy says:

    I think it looks awesome as is!

    I saw this comic today and it made me think of you:
    http://wondermark.com/641/

    :)

  10. Annalea says:

    Awesome use of the pockets, Amy. I wonder what they’ve got at goodwill around here . . . :o)

  11. maryse says:

    ha! that is pretty cool!

  12. Loopykd says:

    What a great idea! Now we will all be going out to Goodwill and Salvation Army finding leather coats to mess with.

Leave a Reply

