Food Storage

I can’t remember, but I think I’ve talked about my love of canning here before. Well, I want to do more than can. I have a lovely root cellar and I think it needs to have more in it than just jars of goodies. I’m thinking it would be good to hold baskets of apples (from our apple trees once they start producing) and root vegetables. I have plans to plant rutabagas and parsnips after we pull up the early peas so that they can winter over in the ground. I’ll store squash and some other things in the root cellar.

I just acquire a book on root cellaring and there are lots of good ideas. The book is Root Cellaring by Bubel. I’ve only skimmed so far but there is a lot more I could be doing and hopefully will be.

Here’s my little root cellar now:
rootcellar-emptyjars
Empty jars on one side

rootcellar-fulljars
Full jars on the other

rootcellar-shelfredo
I’m working on covering all the shelves in this lovely shelf squishy stuff. I thought of repainting it all but I like the shelf stuff so I’m forgoing the painting for now.

What I didn’t picture is that this is a root cellar underneath my stairs so the ceiling is short to begin with and then goes to non-existence. The low spots without shelving will be perfect for baskets of root veggies.

This entry was posted in food storage. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Food Storage

  1. DebbieB says:

    Dude, you are ready for the zombiepocalypse now!

    Though I must admit, I’m idly wondering how much fiber you could fit on those shelves if you moved those jars out of the way…

  2. Emily says:

    Do I see dilly bean? Yum!

  3. Ezara says:

    When do you sleep?!

    Instead of baskets for root veggies and apples, you could use them for fiber…

  4. maryse says:

    you are so ready for lallybroch sassenach

  5. Vicki says:

    Aw. Looks just like Grandma’s!

Leave a Reply

