The Cord Keeper

Thing number 245 about me – I have lots of gadgets….I love gadgets.
I never used to be like this but something clicked in me a couple of years ago and I really love the little electronic thingies. Kindle, Ipod, computers, phones. I want them all. But they all come with cords and where do you keep the cords. If you’re on the go you put them in one place, your home they’re in another. So on and so forth.

Thing number 6 to know about me – I lose things….A lot.
Where did I last plug in the Kindle? Did I bring the blue tooth cord to charge the thing at work? Where is the cord to the phone?

I needed a solution to keep the cords tidy, in one place and so that I can travel with them easier than throwing them all into a baggie. Here’s my solution, my cord keeper:
cordkeeper-rolled
It rolls up all nice and neat and has a button with elastic to hold it shut (not shown because I stink with photography and blogging)

Opened – and you can see the flap that folds down to hold it all in:
cordkeeper-flapdown

All the way open and I made notes for what is supposed to be in each pocket:
cordkeeper_open1

How to make it:
–Materials:A piece of newspaper, 1/2 yard of Cotton, small piece of canvas (for stability), scissor, thread, needles or sewing machine, piece of elastic, button, and collect all your cords.
–Draw out the size and pockets that you need. (it can be really rough)
cordkeeperplan
–The entire back piece is in cotton
–The canvas is up to the flap which is in cotton
–The pockets are a double layer of cotton
–Sew the pockets onto the canvas facing just how you want it and stitch in the pocket rows.
–Sew the flap to the top of the canvas.
–Put the backing right side to the right side of the canvas/pocket/flap layer you have made.
–Pin it all together – and don’t forget to pin in the elastic loop here. You want it about mid pocket.
–Sew around leaving a turning space (over the flap area is the easiest.
–Turn right side out, push out the corners
–Stitch around the outside to neaten and close the hole.
–Put on your button.

VOILA!

This entry was posted in Knitting, sew crazy. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Cord Keeper

  1. marissa says:

    you are a genius! I, too, am never where my cords are.

  2. Moan says:

    But do you remember to put them back!? I never do!

  3. Great tool! That is similar to the pattern I use to make my knitting needle cases. I love the fabric!

  4. lisa says:

    I so TOTALLY need one of these. I’ve been thinking to do something similar but that hangs on the wall or at the edge of the desk. Other people in the house might be more likely to use it if they didn’t have to unwrap something. Because it is SO. DIFFICULT.

  5. Faith says:

    ow helpful and cool! Thanks for the tutorial. :)

  6. Gale says:

    What a great and cool helpful tool.

  7. Fantastic and great for traveling, too! Love your fabric. Thanks for the tutorial. :-D

Leave a Reply

