Ice Cream Cup Cakes

I haven’t written about food here in a while. I’ve just been plodding along trying to eat write and make good food for the family. This past week I finally ordered myself a Kitchenaid mixer. Oh sure, the man wanted to get me one a ways back but in my delusion I refused til finally I felt I couldn’t live without it. First thing out of it was homemade pasta for supper. Then the first big thing out of it was Ice cream cupcakes. It’s a little easier than having to make it all by hand….well, that and now I have an ice cream maker.

I used the Black Magic recipe to make the cupcakes. I took one tin and made them fairly light, I wanted to have room for the ice cream to come. But I had batter left over so I had to make a few more and then made Peanut Butter icing to go with those.

icecreamcupcakes-not

When the cupcakes that were getting ice cream were done, I froze them. This makes them easier to work with and gives me time to make the ice cream. I made 2 flavors – Chocolate Gelato and Strawberry Gelato. I made the recipes almost exactly. I added chocolate chunks to the chocolate one and the strawberry one had less sugar and more berries. The Chocolate came out richer with a better texture. The next time I make ice cream I’m going to use something like that one but with fruit/less sugar (I’m not a huge chocolate fan and that chocolate one is too chocolatey).

icecreamcupcakes-filling

Notice the new papers. The cupcakes are done, I pop them out and cut them in half so that I have a bottom and a top. I put the bottom back in the pan and then put a good dollop of ice cream in there and top it off with the cupcake top. I let them freeze up solid and then frost them.

icecreamcupcakes-done

I had a little peanut butter frosting left so two got that, the rest got a simple ganache (just chocolate and heavy cream) that I whipped when it was cooled to form a more airy fluffy frosting. I’m not great at putting the icing on. I think my next investment will be a piping bag and tips. I had them at one time and then decided to use them in the pottery studio. It was a nice set too. You wouldn’t believe how much kitchen gear ended up out there.

This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ice Cream Cup Cakes

  1. Julie says:

    Oh Yummy!!! I love the Black Magic cake recipe; it’s so rich and moist.

  2. Manise says:

    Very yummy!

  3. Faith says:

    They look so yummy!

    I got a KitchenAid mixer when I got married, and I don’t know what I would do without it!

  4. Petunia says:

    The more you use that KitchenAid, the more you will love it. I have the food grinder attachment and used it tonight for hash with the left over corned beef from St Paddy’s Day. The grater/shredder is handy if you have access to bulk items. Great for large blocks of cheese, cabbage for cole slaw, slicing potatoes! Have fun!

  5. 偵探社 says:

    I appreciate your site and will subscribe to your rss feed so I can read anytime. Wonderful information?2$4

Leave a Reply

