Hats from Novelty

Who couldn’t use a half dozen new hats?
Everyone needs new hats but I’m trying to keep it at a couple and not go completely overboard like I really want to. So far I’m holding at 2 but I do want at least one more. Or maybe 2 more.
2hats
First up was this:
hat_acadia
Done in Acadia (Spunky Eclectic) thick and thin singles yarn. It’s thick, it’s warm, it’s um, it’s blues and purples. As soon as it’s done being a sample, it will belong to 9goingon20. I made another hat in the same pattern in colors I would surely like.
mardigrashat
This is that yarn I posted about last week.
mardigrashat2
Mardi Gras (Southern Cross) thick and thin plied with beaded thread. In case you couldn’t tell this was the hat that I really liked, I had to take just one more photo:
me_newhat

When pulling the photos off the camera, I realized I had one more shot of the favored hat. Mickey likes the fireplace. Alot. This weekend we had a few big storms so we had a fire in the fireplace to keep us a little extra warm. I placed the hat in front of it to dry faster and regardless of the hat, the dog was going to lay on the hearth.
mickeyatfire

My latest project now are mittens using feathered yarn. I’m not ready to reveal it all but here is a teaser:
feathermitten

This entry was posted in Knitting, spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hats from Novelty

  1. Faith says:

    Those hats are really cute! What a great idea for using novelty yarn. I can’t wait to see what you’re doing with the feathers! It sounds so absurd and wild! :)

  2. random Cindy says:

    Cool. I love what you did with that Mardi Gras colorway. Ah. I begin to understand the feathers. If anyone I know can make that work, it’s definitely you!

  3. naomi says:

    I really like that Mardi Gras hat.

  4. lisa says:

    Oh dang, you like it… In case you change your mind… so do I (bwa ha ha ha)

  5. Mary says:

    LOVE the hats! I was wanting to see a project from thick/thin yarn! I can’t wait to see the gloves finished too! Your pics look great!

Leave a Reply

