Still here!

No really. I am. I just can’t seem to keep up with everything and blog at the same time. I used to have a morning routine of blogging before anyone woke up and the day got started. Now the kids are up way before I’m functional and the blog routine has fallen by the wayside. I think I need to put in some effort at a different time of day.

I have some things to mention and PICTURES!!!
Yes, that’s right, pictures! I never take pictures of events but I have pictures of things.

First up are Finished knits!
I finished Girl Friday from the Fall issue of Knitty.
girlfriday_done
I used Spunky Eclectic 220 Classic. I’m going to try to update my Rav with this info today.

And……. ::drumroll please::……..I finished a scarf!
That’s right. A scarf! It’s only been on the needles for 2 or 3 years.
finished_scarf!!!
Handspun merino 2 ply. The pattern is one I found free on the net but cannot remember where.

I’ve also got new things on the needles:

socks_navytwwed
Navy Tweed socks using some commercial yarn I had in my stash.

This will be 9goingon20’s Xmas sweater if it gets done. Otherwise it will be a New Year sweater. No pressure.
8-20_sweater_xmas09
Because the kids have issues with putting their sweaters in the right piles, this is woolease in Cranberry and the pattern is a simple top down one that was once based on Some book but I’ve rewritten it so many times to make other sweaters that it really nno longer represents that sweater.

I have old things on the needles that are being worked on:
Marscorrie_sox
Socks for me in Handspun Yarn. The fiber is Corriedale in the Mars colorway and it’s a squishy lovely 3 ply.

The Aestlight shawl
shawl_abbytweed
which as you can see, hasn’t gotten much play.

I have new yarn for new projects:
bbsweater_xmas09
This will be Boogie Babies Xmas sweater when I get around to getting it on the needles…. She wants a cabled pullover. She is pretty specific about what she wants, but I think she’ll accept what I’m going to do.

I also have frogged yarn:
baconball
Bacon wasn’t working out (the yarn was too textured for what I wanted to do) so I’m going to start over with a new design that I already like much better, at least in my head I do.

I’ve also spun a ton of yarn:
But….
I didn’t take pictures of it. All except the yarn that I spun to give away at the SOAR silent auction:
yarn_bfl_soar_berrypickin
It’s BFL thick and thin. It’s just like the skein that was on the cover of my book Spin Control.

Finally….we come to the newest wheel in the house:
The Lendrum Saxony.
I picked it up at Rhinebeck but due to needing to leave for SOAR and then being sick, I didn’t get a chance to put a finish on it and set it up. Over the past few days, I was able to take proper care of her. Look how pretty!
lendrum_faceme
lendrum_faceyou
The fastest ratio I have at this time is 18:1 and it’s painfully slow. Frustratingly so. Until the faster flyer comes in, Lendrum lives with the exercise equipment in the basement. I have a pappasan chair down there and I can lay back and lazily spin if I want to:
lendrumspin
I kept that picture mostly because I wanted you to see the craziness that is the stash coming out of the ceiling. I ran out of room in bins so like the yarn it’s in the ceiling now too.

This entry was posted in Knitting, spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Still here!

  1. Ktb38 says:

    The yarn in the ceiling is pure genius. And your wheel is gorgeous!

  2. Linda says:

    Kind of makes me wish I had a drop ceiling,
    Love the wheel.

  3. Jennifer says:

    It’s raining yarn!

  4. Karen says:

    glad you are back, missed you.

  5. benedetta says:

    love the yarn in the ceiling!
    and all your projects too, of course, they are so beautiful

  6. Manise says:

    What a wonderfully insulated basement you have there! Congrats on the new wheel.

  7. lisa says:

    YARN IN THE CEILING! O-M-G. FABulous!! (ok, I’ll stop w/ the caps…),

  8. Marie says:

    Holy cow – yarn in the ceiling! I have to show this to my husband who thinks I have too much yarn – that’s hilarious!

  9. Julie says:

    OMG, I love the yarn in the ceiling!

  10. LaurieG says:

    Stash in the ceiling? Where’s the love button? Almost makes me wish for a drop ceiling. Hope to see the girls’ sweaters — I’ve only committed to socks for the guys for Xmas.

  11. Lucia says:

    You know, I have yarn stored in practically every possible place in the house… except the ceiling. Brilliant!

    …And I thought I was busy.

    …Wheel. Want. (I know, I know: start saving.)

  12. Dianna says:

    The ceiling stash has certainly grown since I first saw it some years ago – at that time, I think it was contained to the back room ceiling. You’re as always an inspiration to the fiber addicts of blogland!

  13. Laurie says:

    OMG! I love the ceiling idea too! Now I want a ceiling like that!

  14. Donna says:

    pretty new wheel~ I love Lendrums.

    And the ceiling stash – hysterical!!

  15. nana nancy says:

    You need to post the directions on how to view the artical and vido from the paper I’m sure your fans would love to view it
    Miss all of you see you soon

  16. Kathryn says:

    Ceiling hu? I wonder what the insulation value is on that?

  17. Beckie says:

    I am anxious to hear the review of the Lendrum Saxony! She is pretty!

    Love the stash in the ceiling!

Leave a Reply

