Twisted Fringe

I finished this scarf over the weekend:
rusticsilkscarf4
I love it. It’s made with one skein of Rustic silk and one ounce of tussah top.
rusticsilkscarf1
I made it on the Rigid Heddle loom at the shop. The Rustic Silk was warp and weft with bits of top woven in (with rows of Rustic silk) to create the little bumps and oddities. I stole the brilliant idea from Beth. I wanna be Beth when I grow up….if I grow up.

So how does one get that twisty fringe? There are a couple of really cool gadgets that make twisted rope or fringe but if you don’t do a lot of it, you can easily do it by hand.
fringe_halfdone
The first step is to figure out how many strings you have so you can do your best to get an even amount in each set. I did 4 in each half of the twist. Here I separated out the 2 that I will need to begin doing the fringe for the second half of the scarf.
fringe_step1
Yes, I’m in sweat pants, it was an impromptu tutorial
Then you take each set and roll them. You can twist them in your hand but it’s easier to roll them down your leg to get the twist.
fringe_roll
Make sure you are rolling the same way for each successive bunch you do. Do both of the sets of string you set aside making sure it’s overtwisted:
fringe_bothrolled
Can you see the extra sproing I have in there? Then you take the ends and knot them.
fringe_knot
Just a simple Overhand knot will do. and then give it a tug and let it go. It will twist upon each other and voila! Twisted Fringe!
fringe_voila

Doesn’t this make you want to go twist up some fringe? Or is that just me?

This entry was posted in Spunky Eclectic, tutorial, weaving. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Twisted Fringe

  1. Jenn says:

    Cool! I’m not a big fringe girl, but I really like this. I’ll have to remember this little trick if I ever decide to fringe something.

  2. DebbieB says:

    I love this scarf! Fabulous idea to use top for texture – I’m glad you ‘stole’ it. :)

  3. Donna says:

    At my spinning group last night, a friend was showing me her finished woven shawl and I noticed the fringe was just like yours. She has a little gadget that does the twisting for her, but then she told me it was possible to do it by hand. Now I want to finish my scarf on my loom and try it myself!

  4. AmyP says:

    Lovely scarf. I used to do the twisty cord thing when I was kid, using the handle on my wardrobe as the anchor.

  5. Megan says:

    This is so timely! I’ve been spinning a bunch of silk for Christmas scarves but I had no idea how to finish them. Now I know. Super Thanks!

  6. naomi says:

    So pretty! Thanks for the fringe tutorial, too.

  7. Tanya says:

    Oh how you make me want to break out the loom. The color is fab! Thanks for the fringe tute.

  8. Annalea says:

    I’ve been doing this with miniblind cords, to make them less horrifyingly dangerous. lol Glad to see it has other uses, too!

  9. Oh wow … I have been doing an extra step in my fringe twisting. Thanks for the wonderful description :) The next scarf will be done that much sooner!

  10. Lesley says:

    Sweatpants are sexy.

  11. Poonam says:

    Your fringe technique is the simplest most effective one i found online.Thanks, its just what i needed.

Leave a Reply

