Run this…

Long legs in stride. Pounding as they run. A graceful run at that. Like a gazelle. More of a loping than a run or a jog. Gorgeous even strides loping out the miles all graceful and shit…..

Running-again

Lovely fantasy about how I run. When I get on my treadmill lately I’m doing it to run jog plod. Yes, Plod. As I’m running I have this unnatural vision of myself as the gorgeous graceful creature I described in the first few sentences. Then I trip, catch a glimpse of myself in the window….something brings me back to the reality of my stubby little legs mercilessly pounding out the miles on the treadmill.

The point is though, I am pounding out the miles. I’m doing it!
I had this crazy idea years ago that I wanted to do a Marathon. Another kid happened and I had stopped running all together. 2 kids and a business to run? Time to train? ha!

Wait, other people do it. Why can’t I?

Now I’m not expecting to run a full marathon anytime soon or to even win it when I do get there. I fully expect to be plodding along as normal and just cross the finish line of a half marathon or a small local race.

Why?

Just to prove to ME that I can do it.

This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Run this…

  1. Karen says:

    Good for you! I started running last year and I just love it. I have ran 2 5K’s this year, which was my goal. I think I am going to try a half marathon next year.

  2. Cayenne says:

    Love the shoes.

  3. iknitifelt says:

    can you knit and run at the same time?

  4. anj says:

    there is quite a few half and full marathons here. I think we can lure you down, yes??

  5. Donna B says:

    Go you!

    Gazelle fantasies are a running prerequisite and far more fun than reality, for us stubby leggers.

  6. Karen M. says:

    You are what you are in your head, run gazelle run.

  7. Kristin says:

    Two years ago I did a half marathon on a whim, having never, ever been a runner before. It was a wonderful experience, and I can’t recommend it enough! It takes a lot of planning with a family, but it can be done. (My husband did a full marathon at the same event…so it was a hairy summer for us.) I quit right after that, and am only now getting back into the game. I’ve missed it!

    So I say, go for it! I bet you’ll love it!

  8. Lynn says:

    I took a short hike up a very steep mountain recently to have a picnic with a very in-shape, cute, smart, lovely guy (not a date, alas). I must have stopped 15 times on the way up! I am SOOOOO out of shape! It’s all that spinning and weaving…..

  9. Cheryl says:

    It will feel so good when you do it! I started traing last fall for a half marathon, which I did in Feb, and I had planned to do the Portland marathon this fall. But that didn’t end up happening, since I have a baby coming in Sept. Maybe next fall. I always feel like I look great running, like a nike commercial. Then I catch my reflection in a storefront or a car window and I’m shocked to see myself shuffling along.

  10. Wendy says:

    I started running again and really found the C25K program helpful in building up the endurance/time/speed, and if I hadn’t had one of the apps or interval podcasts I never would have kept up with keeping track of all the intervals, since I suck at that sort of random tracking thing. But since I finished a couple of months ago I’ve moved on to running 5ks almost very day and more, doing the Beginning 5k program from the coolrunnings site. I love running now, especially being at the place where I can just bust out some miles like it ain’t no thang. It really turns my mood around.

    What do you listen to while running?

  11. Annalea says:

    Good for you, Amy. Running is awesome.

    I highly recommend Galloway’s Book on Running by Jeff Galloway. His training schedules are geared towards not only reaching your goals, but avoiding injury. It’s awesome.

    Keep it up!

  12. Marjorie says:

    Way to go! Running works best when you do it for yourself and set goals. Most important thing is to invest in good shoes (to reduce the chance of injury). Here’s to Runner’s High! – at least as good for you as spinner’s high!

  13. DebbieB says:

    Do it, Amy – do it! I’ve run 3 half-marathons, and I was so very proud of myself each time I crossed the finish line. There’s just something about pushing yourself to a limit and beyond – it brings out the best in you.

  14. lisa says:

    Yeah, good for you! I have always hated running (all that bouncing boobage). I’ve discovered double support sports bra and can cope. That first time I had to run around the gym a few months ago? Thought I would die. But now I’m all kinds of good. You though, wow! go grrrl!!!!

  15. Lisak says:

    You go, girl!! You can do it. Exercise is great for the body and the mind.

  16. Faith says:

    Go you!! Oh, and also, I am, apparently, the funniest runner ever. I always make people laugh. I’m just THAT graceful. :b

  17. maryse says:

    good luck!

    i know exactly what i look like when i run. a mess. heh.

  18. Bad Hippie says:

    Go, Amy! I started running in March, and am up to five miles. I’ve done 2 5Ks and am scheduled for a 10K in August. May 2010 will be a half marathon!

  19. The great thing about running is that when you come back to it after a long time away, it’s much easier to pick it back up than it was when you first began running. I’m working my way up to a 5k distance, and will hopefully run a race in September. If it ever stops raining!!

  20. Anne says:

    Having run 3 marathons, I can confirm what my friend Theresa told me 10 years ago: *anyone* can run a marathon as long as she can put in the training. (I would add a corollary: …while remaining healthy and uninjured enough to keep going.)

    Half-marathons or long relays are more fun, though.

  21. PuppyMomma says:

    If I started running it’d look more like a hippo running, or an elephant, or maybe a really fat pig. Not sure if the world needs that yet.

    Good for you, galloping gazelle!

  22. GALE says:

    Wow … I will add bookmark this site !! So great !!

Leave a Reply

