Victoria's Secret Picker

My Ipex bra saved my boob.
Yeah, Happy Monday. Are you awake yet? I’m going to be like the US News and tell you more about the boob later. But you might get the idea of what happened as we go along. It’s a story about “safety”.

Mmmm fleece:
picker_fleece
This is a gorgeous Polwarth fleece. Grey Polwarth. Washed and dried and ready to do something with. I combed a chunk of it but I just didn’t get the fiber that I wanted. I was pretty sure I didn’t want a combed fiber but I persisted to prove it to myself anyway. What I wanted was this:
picker_clouds
Light fluffy puffy gorgeous grey clouds.
It’s an easy process to boot. Easy with a flicker or a Pat Green picker:
picker_look

Sheep fleece almost always have little ends that need to be split up before carding. If you’re going to comb, you don’t usually need to do anymore than load your combs. Of course, part of processing a fleece is getting a good fleece. If you get a fleece that is felty or full of VM then it’s going to take more time and be a bigger pain to get it prepped. Take the time to get something worth using. This article will help if you haven’t picked out a fleece before.

Back to the little ends. You can flick them, pick them apart by hand, or use the picker before carding. With the picker, I’m not even going to card. I’m going to spin right from the puffy fluffy clouds. Sometimes you need to do more than one picker pass if you’re feeding too much in at a time or if the fleece is a little tricky. It’s also a great way to blend colors. I’m going to do some of that later this week and I’ll take some photos of how that works.

I will separate my fleece out into small chunks that aren’t too much for the picker. And will slowly feed them into the picker, under the safety bar:
picker_feeding
and it’s picked up by this swinging top arm
picker_swingingarm
that grabs and drags it across the bottom row of teeth
picker_workingn1
You can see there how it pulls the fleece apart and how it makes it all fluffy. It works like magic. The fiber goes in the front and fluffs out the back. If you check out this photo
picker_look
You can see the fluff out the back. It just fairly flies out the back. It’s a lovely site to watch.

If you have more questions about picking, just comment or email and I’ll post about them another time. It’s early Monday am and I’m sure I missed something important.

You’ve waited long enough, now to the boob part.
Did you notice the little yellow label on the picker? This one:
picker_warning
And those sharp points….Did you notice those?
So here I was swinging that arm and trying to take photos and wham! It grabs into my tshirt and bra. I squeaked and pulled free. I have 3 little holes in my bra now from that picker. So I’d like to add to that warning…Don’t try to take your own photos while operating the picker. This might seem like an obvious thing to most people but, um, well…..there are those of us that need to learn the hard way.

This entry was posted in tutorial. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Victoria's Secret Picker

  1. Mel says:

    Well, I guess that’s a new way to get a nipple piercing!

  2. Lynn says:

    Oh, hell, yet another tool I neeeeed.

  3. denny says:

    I so lucky I picked up my picker at a guild sale for 50$

    I have a good healthy respect for that bed-o-nails though.

  4. Chris says:

    Love the tutorial. And the story with it. Sounds so like what I would do.

  5. Weaver says:

    hey now. you remember way back when you splattered dye right near eye and Brewer was so worried about my favorite dyer that he sent you really awesome goggles? should I have him start searching his PPE (personal protective equipment) catalogs for steel tipped bras? :)

  6. April says:

    Good thing it wasn’t a water bra!

  7. Manise says:

    Steel tipped bra-hehehe! Thankfully you were not injured! Love your pile-o-fluff.

  8. Suzie says:

    Yay!! safe boobees!!

    (one picker pass–anyone up for generating a tongue twister outta that?)

  9. DebbieB says:

    Oh noes! Glad the girls both survived.

  10. Judi says:

    OUCH!! Even a near miss makes me wince in sympathy.

  11. Sherie says:

    Love the fleece clouds. Glad the boobage is safe!

  12. Danielle says:

    Ouch! Glad you escaped unscathed.

  13. JessaLu says:

    holy almost bewbtastrophe, batman!

  14. farm-witch says:

    Sheesh! A close call. It happened to me once, too. So, you might add to the list not trying to lean over to look into the kitchen and tell kiddos ‘good job’ on their playdough volcano in progress. It snapped my bra strap in two and put a nice 2 inch ‘claw mark’ down my – ahem – left one. I hung the damaged bra in the studio that summer as a reminder and a warning. Ouch!

  15. Yup, sold mine after it ripped the kangaroo pocket right off my sweatshirt! A Lethal Weapon. Shelagh.

    Btw, our SPA companion who couldn’t make it this year just loved our choice of SE roving for her consolation prize (Time of the Month) – spun & knitted it into a hat right away.
    The Vermont Contingent.

  16. lisa says:

    Wooo!!(I would do that too) Maybe you could do some commerative embroidery (like tatoos?) around the holes??

  17. marta says:

    Is that the “Do It Yourself Biopsy Kit?” That might be just a little crass but, man, I’m glad you’re ok. Near misses make you think about the things you do when you’re alone. An incident with a wobbly chair and a stuck gate lock (the kind that has hardware sticking out of both sides) on a 6′ fence comes to mind – that was the “Do It Yourself Impaling Kit.”

    I’m loving my Ladybug. I knit “Survivor Mitts” with the pink fluff you sent with it and would like some more. Is that possible? Will you be thinking of carrying pickers? I’ve been needing one for a long time…

  18. Jennifer says:

    So glad you didn’t hurt yourself! I get wigged out every time I use my picker, it’s seriously scary and I get these visions of getting my hand shredded.

  19. annie says:

    i just got a pat green triple picker a few weeks ago, second hand. no instructions.. BUT, it came with a leather bib, which from now on in i’m going to wear. it’s not that i can’t spare a bra, but that you’ve got me properly scared now.

    my friend cindy just bought your floor model baynes. yayyy!!

  20. Kourtney says:

    Well, I guess that proves everyone who’s ever scolded about the importance of proper foundation garments, right?

  21. “Good agencies don’t have to advertise. Bad agencies do. Well known photographers know which agencies are good. If your daughter is very young, you don’t need a portfolio because her looks will change quickly.”

Leave a Reply

