Instant Gratification

Or at least near instant. It was one of those really tiring weeks last week. One where the current projects are all taking long and I needed something more instant. When I finally got the time to spin, I did the “instant” kind.
yarn_fff_pounder
This is that pounder from Friend’s Folly Farm
It was spun in modified long draw with low twist. I have around 700 yards.

yarn_scf_adelaide
Next up was “Adelaide” from Southern Cross Fibre
Thick and thin singles. They are low twist set by dunking in hot to cold a couple of times, water squeezed and hug to dry. NO WEIGHTS.
lowtwisthang
There it is hanging with the next yarn that is an old one from Hello Yarn‘s Fiber Club. I think this one is from 2007 and may be called Maldives. It was spun and finished the same as Adelaide.
yarn_hyclub

Last but not least I actually did a 2 ply. It wasn’t as instant but it was fun because it was CorriePaca.
yarn_cp_walkabout
I have no clue about yardage but there is 8 ounces there. The colorway is a light version of “Walkabout”.

As soon as I was done with all these near instant projects I set the Louet S51 aside went back to a few older ones on Hyacinth. None of that got finished but I’m working at filling up the bobbin box again.

This entry was posted in spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Instant Gratification

  1. Loopykd says:

    That’s all done in one weekend? Wow, you are so crazy! I wish I could get that much done in one weekend.

  2. I love your thick and thin singles. They look so squishy and soft!

  3. iknitifelt says:

    i love the way the plied yarn looks. can you share a bit on how you do that? My guess is that you split the roving in two lengthwise, spin each as singles, and then ply them…?

  4. DebbieB says:

    Terrific yarns! Will you weave with the thick/thin singles as weft? They look perfect for it.

  5. Brenda says:

    I love those thick and thin singles! They look so inviting.

  6. Cathy says:

    OK, I know you’re an expert spinner, but let me get this straight. You got a little free time in the last couple of days and spun a *pound* of wool (and then another pound of this and that for good measure)? And called it instant spinning?! Can’t wait until I can go like that!

  7. Jennifer says:

    Gorgeous spinning as always! I love that thick/thin look. I want to experiment more with spinning and using singles. I like my plied yarns, but the singles can be so interesting!

  8. Chris says:

    Wow! Productive little elf, ain’tcha? I gotta try some of that low twist spinning. I always put too much twist in the single,then get rid of most of it in the plying.

  9. Susan says:

    Wow. Do you sleep? ;). Seriously, love it all. I might have to pull something out and work on my long draw.

  10. Susie says:

    Love all the work you did. Colors and textures are beautiful!

  11. John says:

    They all look fantastic! There’s nothing quite like some good, instant gratification ;) And I’m with Debbie, those thick & thins would make great weft!

  12. farm-witch says:

    MMMMM….love your singles!

  13. lisa says:

    I have about 4 ounces of that same FFF fiber! I can’t believe you got so much, do you have superhumongo bobbins?

    I am going to try to get in on your spin thin class, but would love to take a long draw one too… when will you offer it again? I think I do some sort of modified long draw, but I don’t know!

  14. Lucia says:

    Gorgeous! As several spinners told me when I was just starting, all newbie spinners go through a thick-and-thin phase and soon learn to spin perfectly even yarn… after which it’s very hard ever to produce thick and thin again. You sure have the knack.

    As for FFF, the stuff is just criminally gorgeous. I bought a purple pounder and it rudely shoved aside the Grafton batt I’d been working on and took over my Schacht.

    (Btw, I don’t think I thanked you adequately for your response to Miss B at SPA. She has already saved over $100 and is having all her babysitting and chore money put on account so she won’t spend it.)

  15. Marte says:

    I can’t believe how helpful the wordpress community is. Thanks for the wonderful information.

Leave a Reply

