Yarn with a purpose

Half the yarn I make it’s because I enjoy the colors or the fiber. The other half is with a project in mind. Whether I actually follow through with the project or not is another thing. The yarn I finished plying over the weekend was made with a project in mind.
hatyarn
The fiber is solidly colored corriedale that I sell in the shop
I made 4 ounces of each color.
Sport weight 2ply.
hatyarn_hotpink
Normally I would say that a 3 ply is best for colorwork but I did a really tight worsted yarn. The product won’t be as defined as a three ply but it should still be pretty. I’ve done this before or I’d have sampled to be sure I did it right. This is where keeping your samples/swatches helps.

I’ve always wanted to make a We call them Pirates hat by Adrian of Hello Yarn but that style of hat makes me look a little like a certain part of the male anatomy….. Then comes in a hat that does look good on me Selbu Modern, but I’m not a flowery girl. I was thinking of sucking it up and just making it anyway but I’ve come to the decision that I need skulls and I need the tam shape. I’ll be working on coming up with a pattern that works for me.

Then I’ll just need to decide on what to make for matching mittens. Or maybe my knit pickiness will be too much for me to handle and I’ll give up after the hat….Funny, if someone makes me something I’m so happy with whatever it is, if I’m making it, I’m so picky half the time I give up.

This entry was posted in Knitting, spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Yarn with a purpose

  1. Sammi says:

    Yanno, I actually made the Pirates hat but I took one of the motif rounds out of it so it wouldn’t be SO tall on my tiny head, maybe that could help you too? I made the mittens to match, I’m so enamored of the set. And people are ALWAYS trying to steal them!! Though I like the tam idea. I keep meaning to make a tam.

  2. Annalea says:

    I’m the same way about knits — very few things I’ve started for myself have ever made it to completion. (And a few have been frogged even after that!)

    As for the tam: it’s awesome. Is it just me, or do those flowers look slightly skull-like? It doesn’t seem like it would take a lot of mods to make the flower pattern into a Jolly Rodger motif. ;o)

    Have a great week!

  3. Gwen says:

    I couldn’t see the pirate hat, but the flower hat was very cute (albeit flowery). I love that pink – I hope you come up with something you like well enough to finish! :)

  4. Manise says:

    Hehe- what a reference! Looking forward to the non-anatomy resembling hat that you come up with.:-)

  5. Sara says:

    Ooh… those colors are going to look HOT together!!

  6. Nell says:

    That title sounds like Highlight magazine from when I was a kid. “Reading with a purpose”

  7. bogiesgirl says:

    The “flowery” hat – you could modify the flowers in the chart to diamonds, circles, etc. You know how creative you are! Use it! I can see it on you…

  8. Anthony Treg says:

    I like your focus on decisions.

Leave a Reply

