Let it snow!

And it did yesterday.
stormy_1-18_shrub
Lots and lots and lots.
stormy_1-18
I adore the snow. I know I seem to be in a minority and my Dad will read this post and grumble. In a few more months I’ll be whining about the heat and wishing for the snow. I’ve been trying to get extra “cold” time because I know it will be gone before I’m ready for it to.
stormy_1-18_fence
Still, there is something so sweet, so calming, so purely beautiful about falling snow. There is also something else oddly magical about it. It may be an attitude left over from the “snow days” of my childhood. A day when the snow is just falling thickly and continuously is still a “snow day”. It’s a day to stay inside and to cuddle up with the family.
spinning_in_front_of_the_fire
Of course it’s very likely that it’s not the snow that I love. But the chance to be covered in woolies, sitting in front of a fire, spinning. You can’t do that in 90F weather with 70% humidity.

This entry was posted in family, life, sky, spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Let it snow!

  1. PuppyMomma says:

    Yeah. I think spinning in front of a fire in 90F heat with 70% humiditiy is actually contra-indicated.

  2. denny says:

    oh that looks so cosy.

  3. JennaKate says:

    Enjoy the snow day while it lasts! Hope to see pics of the spinning you do on your day off. The teal fiber on your wheel looks fantastic.

  4. Kristen says:

    I’m soooo with you in loving the snow. I’ll take it over 90 degrees and humidity any old day. Love playing in it, love looking at it, don’t even mind shoveling it. Plus, you get to cozy up by the woodstove and spin away, or at least I do. Enjoy!

  5. I am 100% with you on snow days. Nothing is as wonderful as hunkering down and getting cozy while the snow falls. And all my friends & family think *I’m* crazy, too. :)

  6. Tina M. says:

    Ugh… you and my husband with the snow thing! I love the look of it, and I hear you on the joy of a snow day, but I am so not into the shoveling. You do have a point though, thickly, steadily falling snow on a weekend is a truly beautiful thing.

    Snot freezing in your nose when it’s too damned cold out to snow? Not so great. :P

  7. Katie says:

    I love the snow too and always get excited for the first big snow of the season. It seems magical to me.

  8. Donna says:

    I must admit that my affection for snow and snow days has increased since my fiber addiction took hold a few years ago.

    There really isn’t anything more cozy in my book than to be sitting in front of the woodstove with my family and spinning or knitting.

    Enjoy it while it lasts…

  9. Cindy Soxnut says:

    I’m with you. Warm coziness inside. Pristine beauty outside. Fiber in my hands…

  10. Erica says:

    I miss snow! (Let’s see if I’m still saying that next year, living in WI…) Hope you enjoyed your snow day!

  11. Bad Hippie says:

    Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow.

    And snow it is doing, in Ohio. Darn good thing I took up knitting a few years back.

    Still would like to see a “real” New England winter, though…with wood stoves and all.

  12. Wish I were sitting by the fire spinning with you, Amy! Such nice pictures ; )

  13. Miss Dallas says:

    I’m a cold person, too! Too bad I live in Dallas! It NEVER SNOWS HERE! I have to really pace myself with all the wooly mittens, hats and scarves. We hardly get to bundle up!

  14. Nell says:

    That is the best knitting weather ever. But I gotta tell you, I don’t miss driving in it!

  15. Your blog is so informative

Leave a Reply

