All over the place

This is where I’ve been lately. Here, there, everywhere, but no where in particular for any length of time.
It’s hard having the loom in the cellar away from everyone because I would rather spend time with my family so I get a few inches done on the next scarf here and there:
greentonalscarf
I need to work a little harder on it though because I’m hoping to make the kit available soon. Of course, sewing is in the same place as the loom which is making that slow going too unless the kids need something. My main winter jacket is 12 years old and it shows. I have so many plans for a new winter jacket and it starts with this:
pattern3563
I have plans for weaving the cloth for another jacket but this one is a lovely boiled wool from a local woolen mill in Norway Maine. It’s a gorgeous charcoal grey fabric that’s been sitting in my closet for a couple of years. I finally cut it and will do a bit of sewing and reworking the pattern to include a lining so it will be a suitable winter jacket.
teddysweater
I’ve done a bit of knitting here and there as well. I finally finished the sample sweater for a class at The Knitting Experience. I need to steek the sleeves and I’ll be done so they can have a sample for the Fair Isle and steeking class.
birthdayyarn
Last but not least I finished some spinning. This was a couple of lovely batts that Josette from Enchanted Knoll sent me for my birthday. I’m making a pair of much needed mittens. The cable cuff pattern is lost in the yarn but I know it’s there and to me that’s what counts. I almost did a plain rib but I really wanted the cables and stopped caring if it showed or not. Sometimes it’s not about how it looks, but about how it makes you feel.

This entry was posted in Knitting, sew crazy, spinning, weaving. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to All over the place

  1. Sara says:

    I want in on that steeking class… but we both know I’m not driving anywhere in the winter unless absolutely necessary.

  2. anj says:

    I found the mittens you made me this weekend. They have been on walkabout for about a month. I was getting ready to break out the thrummed mitts kit I bought from you. I still plan on breaking out the kit, but it isn’t a dire emergency anymore.

    All of this to say.. I still love the mitts you amde me. THANK YOU! mwah!

  3. farm-witch says:

    Whoo! I’m dizzy just watching you. There has been some taunting and joking around my house, too, that mom’s studio is like and orb – she goes in and doesn’t come out. Can’t wait to see your jacket and am envious of your weaving of cloth…..my sewing machine sits neglected and pouting these days!

  4. Teresa C says:

    Oooh, I have been thinking of making a winter jacket, but can’t find a good place to get a nice wool. I really want a navy wool jacket. That pattern is adorable.

  5. Chesley says:

    The sweater looks great! Can’t wait for the class.

  6. K says:

    A local mill, even better! There’s nothing like good boiled wool.

    It’s such a relief that we don’t have to pick just one craft, isn’t it? I like how the scarf’s striping up.

  7. denny says:

    if it feels good do it. Hows that for ol’school.

  8. wendy says:

    Pretty scarves…Gotta love green in winter.lol.

    Good luck with your projects!

Leave a Reply

