Scarves…..

I really love scarves.
I love wearing them. How they squish and cuddle around your neck. I don’t like the strangulation feeling from a turtleneck, but a loosely wrapped scarf is divine. I love scarves any time of year when I need a little warmth or the cuddle of wool….

I love weaving scarves.

One for the shop that I showed last week:
tweedialpacascarf-finished
SIZE: 6.5 feet with hand twisted fringe by 9 inches wide
YARN: Warp and Weft: Alpaca naturals from Spunky Eclectic in Chocolate, Fawn, and Natural
EPI: 12 (132 ends total)
PATTERN: simple 2/2 twill that I reversed direction at random intervals.

One for the husbeast:
husbeastscarf
SIZE: 6.5 feet with turned under edge by 7.5 inches wide
YARN: Warp and Weft: Woolease from stash.
EPI: 8
PATTERN: simple 2/2 twill done in an offset arrow type. Not that it was necessary because it doesn’t show much in this weft faced fabric.

I’m not sure what’s going on the loom next. I have some samples I want to do for some kit ideas and some new yummy alpaca that just came in and then there is the idea of making Christmas scarves (which is slowly fading). I also have some fabric I want to make for a jacket. I keep seeing fabulous jackets and my winter jacket is less than….well, it’s so far less than fabulous, it’s not even good. I picked up a few patterns so I’m armed with ideas and I have yarn.

There are actually so may projects in mind that I’m clueless as to what to do next. I even have 2 warps all measured and waiting. I may just write all my ideas down and pull one from the jar. It would be easier than having to actually make a decision.

This entry was posted in weaving. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Scarves…..

  1. Programmer at Arms says:

    This is the sort of thing that is going to drive me to buying a loom sooner rather than later. Beautiful.

  2. Suzie says:

    Yummy again!!

    (Pick the purple project…..)

  3. Dianna says:

    Is there symbolism in your scarf being alpaca and husbeast’s being Woolease? LMAO

  4. Sara says:

    I love the alpaca one so much I’m drooling.

  5. Karen M. says:

    Just besause you get a fabulous new loom, you go off on a weaving toot.

  6. Jennifer says:

    Beautiful scarf! I share your love of the scarf, and in extension, the wrap. There’s something about being all cuddled up in something warm and wooly.

Leave a Reply

