The first

The first project off the fancy loomie is done.
ws-gifttan
It still needs a wash and a twisting of the fringe but it’s off the loom.
Alpaca twill about 9 inches wide and about 6 feet long.

The second project is on
ws-jay
And it obvious that I need to bring my Ott-Lite down to light loomie.
This is a bad photo of a Woolease scarf for husbeast. He wanted it mostly black and thick with stripes at the ends. So it’s a weft faced scarf in twill. I had already advanced the warp before I took photos. Silly me had hoped that I would get more done on it yesterday.

Can you tell?
I’m making Christmas scarves.
Who says I’m late?
Hopefully husbeast’s scarf will be done tomorrow and then I can move onto the others. I have about 5 more I want to do before I’ll allow myself to move onto weaving cloth for the jacket I’ve been designing in my head. I used to make fun of Husbeast and his family because they all have a lateness problem. ok, maybe I still do I always say that if you want him to be a certain place at 2 then you need to tell him to be there at 1. It seems that while he’s gotten better over the years, I’ve gotten a tad worse. At least in the gifty department.

Back to the Alpaca scarf. I want to work up one more scarf a little less wide. 9 inches is a huge scarf and it used more yarn that I expected (I took a guess and didn’t actually do the weft math). Eventually I’ll make the kit available in the shop.

This entry was posted in weaving. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The first

  1. Lesley says:

    Can’t wait to see these in person :)

  2. naomi says:

    That first scarf is *gorgeous*. I love the combination of twill and striping.

  3. Suzie says:

    math? We don’t need no stinkin’ math!

    (Marlow? Please?)

    (Yes, I probably do have many of the characteristics of a 3 yo. and mostly not the good ones……)

  4. Julie says:

    Beautiful! Can’t wait to see the scarves!

  5. K says:

    Congrats on getting project #1 off the loom! I hope you’ll tell us how wide it winds up being after wet-finishing, too.

  6. Erica says:

    The scarves are beautiful. I’m trying to resist buying a loom, and they’re not helping! =)

    My husband and I have averaged our timeliness over the past few years, too. I’m a little less early, and he’s a little less late. Funny how that happens when you live with someone long enough, isn’t it?

  7. Donna says:

    When you said you were knitting Chritmas scarves I thought you meant for next Christmas, not the one that just passed! I thought you were so far ahead in your thinking at first. My daughter is still working on this years Christmas knitting too! It happens….But handmade gifts are always worth the wait.

  8. Jennifer says:

    Gorgeous scarves! I think family of crafty people understand getting their Christmas gifts a little late. Weaving is quicker than knitting, so you’ll get it done.

  9. Alison says:

    Beautiful scarves! I really do like that alpaca one.

  10. SaltCitySpinner says:

    Love the alpaca twill scarf! Gorgeous!

  11. Amy, it’s so beautiful! I love it!

Leave a Reply

