Tales of a Wool Whore

Hi, my name is Boogie and I’m a Wool Whore.
Through and through, there is no doubt about it. I’m a wool whore. I get panicky when I’m feeling low on wool. I get anxious when I can’t get my suppliers to answer me immediately or if they’re out of a wool I NEED. What’s even worse is the feeling that happens when I think I’ve run out of a wool I didn’t keep for myself.

This happened to me last week.
I have a limited stock of CorriePaca. I spun a bit up as a sample before I decided to buy the entire lot my supplier had. When it arrived I quickly proceeded to dye tons of it to share. It’s a glorious fiber and I needed to share it. I may be a wool whore but I know how to share.

I was measuring wool for dyeing and came to the end of the bump…end of the bump….
END OF THE BUMP!!!

I don’t have any for me!

END OF THE BUMP!!!!

I scurried around. I had to have another one somewhere. Somewhere…..
At the shop, I had the last 40 lbs.
Then the whore part set in and sharing wasn’t as important as making sure I had enough for a couple of sweaters for me.
One:
cp_mandy
Two:
cp_tahiti
Three:
cp_teal-forest

And I still want more…..
To prove that I’m worthy of more, I have been spinning.
8 ounce of Corriepaca for a sweater yoke. It’s a worsted weight 2 ply in the colorway – Riverwalk.
cpyarn_riverwalk

And here’s a sweater I’m working on.
hyacinthwithsweateryarn

I really want to be working on large lots of fiber but I have a ton of small lots. I’ve made a new deal with myself about spinning. I spin one bobbin for a sweater yarn and then one bobbin from a small project. So far so good. I have a bunch more yarn that I’ve made recently. Now I need to get to plying it.

This entry was posted in spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Tales of a Wool Whore

  1. Lesley says:

    WHORE! *snickers*

    I bet not too many people get to call their boss a whore and get away with it ;)

  2. naomi says:

    The riverwalk and the final orange look especially nice. :)

  3. Amy O' says:

    MMM… Riverwalk. Yummy! Now you got me wanting some CorriePaca!

  4. Corriepaca nothin’. I hear tell of some organic merino you’ve got hiding somewhere. :P

    Love that orange!!

  5. PuppyMomma says:

    My name is Sarah, I’m a wool whore too. But not as bad as you are.

  6. Sherie says:

    OMG! END OF THE BUMP??!! I bet you almost fainted. Glad to see you found a little bit (4o pounds??) to tide you over grrlfriend. :)

  7. Mary C. says:

    So what is a ballpark amount for a sweater? I would say around 2 lb, but that seems like alot. I want to start being more meaningful in my spinning (and knitting, for that matter) but I keep getting caught up in the details. When is that book of yours coming out? Apparently the sooner the better…

  8. Sara says:

    I need to try the Corriepaca… it seems to be pretty darn popular!

  9. Karen says:

    How much do you usually need to spin enough for a sweater for yourself? I love all the colors you dyed!

  10. Danielle says:

    Is the top ball your Mandy colorway? Because that’s the color that I’ve been contemplating for when I’m ready to spin for a whole sweater…

  11. Katie says:

    I just got myself spinning again last night and I’m feeling the lure once more.

  12. John says:

    Oh no, the Corriepaca is almost gone?! Like, forever?

  13. Eileen says:

    For a whore, you certainly have a lot of self control…

    Love the colorways, can’t wait to see the finished products!

  14. Bad Hippie says:

    You forgot to check the drop ceiling for more wool. Isn’t that where you hide some of your stash? :)

  15. Chris says:

    Oooooo, lots of pretty in there.

  16. Amy says:

    Hi Amy.

    I am glad that you have decided to admit that you have a problem. The first step is admitting it. The second step is tearing the house appart looking for more fiber!!

  17. Becky says:

    Great colors! I love the Riverwalk combo.

  18. Husbeast says:

    1. We admitted that we were powerless over fiber – that our lives had become unmanageable…..

  19. farm-witch says:

    I love wool whores!

    Did I just say that? LOL!

  20. It’s okay if I point and laugh, right, so long as I am willing to admit (at some point) having… you know… done the same thing?

  21. Nell says:

    Phew! That was a close one!

  22. Steph says:

    I’m usually really bad about startitis, but I have had a little more self control of it lately. :D

  23. DeeAnn says:

    Ha!! I so know why you inspired me to need more bobbins ;-) I feel so much better as a fiber slut knowing the pro’s feel like hoarding whore’s too lol. Beautiful sweaters in progress on the wheels – you inspire me to try my stamina for a sweater – just as soon as I get through this years mittens :)

  24. tiffaney says:

    “I get panicky when I’m feeling low on wool.”

    Ok that cracked me up. I feel the same way about essential oils though. My mind is way more at ease when I know that I have giant bottles filled with all the oils I could ever need. I get extra panicky for some reason when I have full bottles of stuff I DONT need, and empty bottles of the ones I do.

    I got your order – thank you! – and will be working on it today. Might not get to send it out until Tuesday, since that is my day off from school.

Leave a Reply

