I start things.

I was feeling like I had a touch of startitis lately. I figured I’d run around and take photos of all the starts so I could post the craziness. Accountability keeps me going….Turns out it was just a FEELING of startitis.

I did actually start 3 sweaters but it’s not the extreme startitis I thought I had. 3 sweaters isn’t unusual for me to cast on for in a week, though many would consider that a serious case of startitis.

First up, Dad needed a new sweater. He said he didn’t but a few months ago he picked out the pattern and the yarn so I’m guessing he’s just being a pain in the butt now. It’s one of his favorite pass times after all. in case you were wondering, yes, he’s the one I got that habit from.
startitis_jack
It’s the sweater “Jack” from Men In Knits using Cascade Eco Wool

That’s a sweater that takes a bit of concentration with the cable and all. I like to have a simple project on the needles and I feel myself getting close to finishing 8goingon20’s Tomten:
tomtenbody
So I wanted to start some other mindless thing. In walked Dacapo by Hanne Falkenberg
startitis_dacapo
People called it a boring knit with all the garter and when driving or when I can’t concentrate, that’s what I need. Mindless. I got started and it’s not mindless. I wasn’t able to concentrate enough to even work on it much at the time I had started it. It’s not something I can work on while on the go.

Then came February Lady:
startitis_feb_lady
I’m a couple of inches in on it now. It is something I can work on here and there and in the car.

I’ll eventually probably finish all of these sweaters but for now I’ll probably be working on Tomten, Lady and Jack until they’re completed. More details are on my Ravelry.

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I start things.

  1. Bad Hippie says:

    “When driving?”

    You might want to clarify that you only knit when someone is driving YOU! :)

  2. LaBean says:

    Yeah, I’d call that Startitis alright. But hey, whatever floats your boat. I think I’ve caught it now, just reading your blog. Thanks alot! :)

  3. Sara says:

    Startitis seems to be my middle name as of late.

    I started your new hat last night with Rosebud… hoping to hell I have enough yarn because I stupidly forgot to measure yardage on the second hank.

  4. Dianna says:

    OK, Amy. Now I know why I gravitate to your shop, in person and on-line! Your startitis list almost mirrors mine – I have a Hanne Falkenberg languishing on needles, the yarn got bought last week for a February Lady sweater , and I have my “Party Dress” handspun poised for a baby Tomten a co-worker commissioned. Then there are the three pairs (or more) of socks on needles, and a lace stole about 40% done…. Next up are the Grinchy moccassin socks!

  5. Amy says:

    Gah! I need to not start things right now and all those sweaters on all those needles are making my fingers itch to start something.

  6. Danielle says:

    I love the cable in the Jack sweater! I started 2 new sweaters this week too, and one is for my dad. I’m only swatching for that one so far, since I’m going to design something for him, and I need to swatch a bunch of cables in order to pick one.

  7. DebbieB says:

    Are you doing any mods to the Lady? Or knitting it straight? I want to do one, but I’ve never knit myself a sweater before…

  8. woolydaisy says:

    i so have startitis. i just get inspired and excited about a new project it is impossible to wait. now if only i can get finishitis and have something to show for my addiction.

  9. Nell says:

    Definitely a case of startitis. Cast on 2 sweaters and call me in the morning. ;)

  10. Jennifer says:

    Great projects, all. Nothing wrong with startitis!

Leave a Reply

