Mittens…check!

I’ve started this year’s round of mittens….Started because one pair is already amongst the missing. My kids are obviously talented and I’m dense. I gave both girls their mittens, took the photos and they ran off with mittens on, happy and wanting to play with mittens on. This is normal, we do this every year.

The other thing we do every year is search and search and search for those mittens. One of these days I swear I will learn my lesson and not let them run off with the mittens. Of course, this is the first year that we lost the mittens so quickly. Usually we get to wear them outside a few times. We’ve not even had a snow storm and I already have to replace mittens. Next year I’m going to pull the mittens off their hands as soon as the photos are done.

mittens_8goingon20
Handspun Bulky 2 ply in “Mango Mama”

mittens_bboogie
Handspun DK weight 2ply in “Brain Freeze”
These are the missing ones and will be replaced by ones in this:
yarn_pumpkinjuice
Pumpkin Juice batts from Enchanted Knoll.
It’s a light worsted 3 ply coming in at around 350 yards. I’ll have enough of this to make mittens and a hat. Which she’s been asking for a new hat too. Then again, whenever I’m spinning something, she makes big plans for it…for herself.

This entry was posted in Knitting, spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Mittens…check!

  1. KnitLisaKnit says:

    You and your dh make beautiful kiddos :)

    The mittens aren’t too shabby either :)

  2. Julie says:

    Beautiful mittens! Love that Pumpkin Juice too. My kids seem to make plans for themselves whenever they see me spin or see fiber or yarn. Loving those Brain Freeze mitts, I have some of that fiber in my stash. Hope you find the mittens!

  3. Sara says:

    This is one of the reasons I haven’t knit the kids mittens yet… they’d lose their heads if they weren’t connected!

  4. Shannon says:

    Adorable mittens on adorable children! Good job!

  5. OH, adorable mittens on the little gals! Must start making mine…I even have my handspun waiting to make them. You always inspire me!

  6. Amy says:

    what about having the cord that connects them? Having lived in the sunny southwest my whole life I have no idea if the cord is frowned upon.

  7. Danielle says:

    Ridiculously cute kids you’ve got there ….
    Do any of the missing mittens ever come home to roost?

  8. Heather says:

    haha! I finally (yesterady morning) got the last thumb on Rachel’s mittens from LAST year. At least she hasn’t lost them …yet!

  9. Manise says:

    Naughty kittehs! :-) Too cute!

  10. yvette says:

    Poor, mittens, your girls are too cute, I hope you like mitten knitting, at this rate they might keep you busy this winter :)

  11. Jennifer says:

    It is a mystery what happens to mittens and to socks. :-)

  12. Koru says:

    Gotta laugh at the recognizably homeschool element to all of this. In the theme of every encounter offers us a lesson, I was brought to realize that many of those lessons were mine – I just needed to have kids to show me the way. I wish you and your daughters many more happy unschooling grades at this adventure.

  13. Bonnee says:

    Your girls are adorable! I never knit mittens without attaching them with a crochet chain. You make it long enough to go up one sleeve, across the back and down the other sleeve of whatever coat they’re wearing. This way, you can’t lose one without losing both. I had several pair for each so when one pair became wet and cold, we could change it out for a fresh pair and put the wet one on the radiator to dry.

  14. Eileen says:

    I’m glad you got photos, at least – they were beautiful!
    :D

  15. Karen says:

    Hopefully the missing mittens will turn up soon. They are too pretty to be lost! I started some handspun mittens recently too.

  16. tanya says:

    What cuties! How sad that the mittens disappeared so fast. Surely they’ll turn up on a 90 degree day in the middle of the summer :)

Leave a Reply

