WNWNW -10/22

Waste Not Want Not Wednesday…
I know it’s not really Wednesday the 22nd. I did have to check to just be sure but I know the day…barely. I got waylaid yesterday and completely forgot the day and that I was going to post here.
Leaves. Some people probably don’t need to worry about leaves and well, they’re basically free gifts of nature if you do have them.
leaves_fallen

So when they get to the point that they are a foot tall in your driveway and you need to get rid of them….
leaves_needtoberaked
What do you do?

  • Bag them and use them as extra insulation around the base of your house
  • Mulch
  • Compost
  • Fill that Scarecrow
  • Use them to bed down plants that need more protection over the winter.

    What do you do?

  • This entry was posted in WNWN. Bookmark the permalink.

    12 Responses to WNWNW -10/22

    1. naomi says:

      Y’know, I think we used to use them as flowerbed cover/compost, but all the leaves blow away from my parents’ house in VT, and I don’t get so many leaves piling up around my 2nd-floor apartment. ;)

    2. Bad Hippie says:

      The garden center guru in my town says to pile the leaves up, run the lawnmower over them, and then use them as compost to build up your garden.

      I think that’ll be an easy chore to convince the teenager to do. What could be more fun than mowing a pile of leaves…on purpose and with permission?

    3. Lynn says:

      I do my best to ignore them until they blow into the hedgerows/gardens, or into my obsessively neat neighbor’s yard, where they get picked and dumped into a vernal pool. One year, I looked out at dinner time to see him mowing up all the leaves on my yard, uninvited – boy, did I feel invaded!

      OK, in reality, we mow the lawn one last time, mulching the leaves and leaving them to fertilize the lawn. Usually.

    4. Rebekkah says:

      We’re lucky. Here in Keene, they take our leaves away for free! We rake them into big curbside piles, and then one day a guy comes and rakes the big piles out into the middle of the street. A little while later a really neat vehicle comes along, and basically vacuums them up. I don’t know what they do with them after that, but it’s pretty neat to see the leaf slurping truck come ’round.

    5. Norma says:

      Last spring I asked a neighbor for all those huge plastic bags of leaves she had raked up and was going to pay $5 a bag to have hauled away. She thought I was a bit nuts, but they were WONDERFUL for my garden — keeping a weed-free path all around my raised beds. This fall I wanted to put a request in Craig’s List, “Please drop off your leaves,” but I’m afraid we’ll be INUNDATED. And unless they’re shredded first (a task I don’t want to be bothered with) they will blow away if I try to use them as mulch for my gardens. I wish I could, though.

    6. Suzanne says:

      here in Vancouver, we mow our leaves ( it gets the pile real hot),put them in an enclosure, cover them ) and we get pure organic soil for the veg garden in the spring. it’s a big job since we have many huge trees, but you can’t buy soil like this anywhere… We even steal some from the neighbours when they put the bags to the curb.

    7. Manise says:

      I put 72 cubic feet of leaves in my 3 composters! I’m ordering another wire bin composter from Gardener Supply to put the remainder in. I don’t put leaves around my plants/ bushes as I find it encourages mice and voles etc… to set up house during the winter months and dine on them.

    8. I’m filling recycled brown paper bags with dry leaves so I can add them to my outdoor composter – to even out the levels – since I usually add so much fruit and vegetable matter. Helps with the fruit flies…though I guess there’ll be fewer now that the cold weather is upon us!

    9. Linda D says:

      It doesn’t use a lot of leaves, but I try to fill at least one big bag and put it in the basement for use as mulch on my worm bin all winter. Much better for them than shredded newspaper (chemical inks and such) and it even makes the bin smell nice.

    10. gayle says:

      We’re piling them on the garden for mulch/compost. We don’t have many leaves of our own, but lucky for us, a good friend has a sugar woods and has been keeping his kids busy raking and gathering for us, and another friend has been bringing bags from his yard (in order to avoid paying to have them hauled away). Everybody’s happy! (Especially us!!)

    11. I make ‘leaf cages’ with wire netting in out-of-the-way corners of the garden and pile in each autumn’s leaves. The idea is that as they rot down, you take the nicely rotted compost from the bottom each winter and spring. But mostly I forget to do that. However, the pile does rot down anyway, so it doesn’t go on getting higher.

      Now if there were only a way to spin leaves into yarn…

    12. Tola says:

      they are called “leaves” for a reason. you are supposed to *leave* them there. although it hink chopping them up with the lawnmower is a good idea.

    Leave a Reply

    