Rhinebeck Wrapup

I’m sure this title is popular around blogland today. None the less, it’s the title I’m using. I had a new point and shoot camera so I actually took some photos. I didn’t take very many though. I meant to take more but I forget I even have the camera half the time. And then there were photos of people acting in a non camera friendly way. Which happen to be my favorite type of photos but I’m sure no one wants to see themselves like that on flickr.

To me Rhinebeck is all about the people. Here’s who found us for the Spunky meetup:
nysw_aintwesweet
In a little bit I’ll go back and add notes to the photos so you can see who is who.

And the usual suspects
nysw08-group
SeeKay,Adrian, and Grasshopper Jen

My boyfriends (poor unlucky boys are stuck with that title)
nysw_myboyfriends
David and John

I finally got to meet long time email and blog friends
nysw_margeneandsherry
Sherie and Margene.

And there were so many others that I was lucky enough to see again and to meet for the first time. Some have infamous photos now in my files and others just have their smiling faces running through my memory :) I always feel so lucky that I get to see you all and spend time with you each year. I also feel really lucky to get my hands on some new goodies.

From Spinner’s Loft
nysw08-spinnersloft_redorangenysw08-spinnersloft_olive
An orangey-red and a deep olive. Both destined to be sweaters someday. Both are Corrie,Finn, Ramboulet crosses.

I got to meet Toni from The Fold and scored an Olivewood Avi Wasserman Spindle from her.
nysw08-aviwasserman

And last but not least are the mystery bumps in my new spinning basket:
nysw08-basketofmystery
The one in the middle I picked up first but it’s something like 14 ounces. Enough for a sweater vest so I needed the one on the left because I really just wanted a shawl. And the one on the right is for my twin Ella, seen here working on a paper for Grad School.
nysw_ellastudies

It’s a little sad that Rhinebeck is done for the year…..I suppose now we can look forward to SPA.

This entry was posted in life, Shopping. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Rhinebeck Wrapup

  1. PuppyMomma says:

    Exercised some self control huh? I expected you to have a MUCH larger haul. I have an Avi Wasserman spindle, but oddly, haven’t used it yet. Let me know what you think.

    And maybe you can try to make MDS&W one day?

  2. weetsie says:

    Oh, looks like fun times, thank you for sharing pictures, it’s so nice to “see” everyone! I wish I could have come, and I want to see the naughty pics! ;-)

  3. John says:

    Unlucky?! Very proud to wear that title! Thanks for all the laughs :) And for posting some pics…they helped a little with a serious post-Rhineback case of the Mondays!

  4. Sara says:

    For cracking ice, John is MY boyfriend! ;-)

  5. Monika says:

    The garbage bin in the last picture is almost bigger than the bench beside it. Sorry, I just thought that was funny. :o) Love the orange and olive green fiber.

  6. farm-witch says:

    Here I was all poised and ready to not be jealous since I didn’t get to go to Rhinebeck. But, then you pulled out the Avi spindle and I whimpered out loud. Green, I am! But, glad you had loads of fun!

  7. Amy says:

    looks like you guys had a great time! I second the wanting to see the “questionable” photos :D

  8. Karen says:

    I didn’t know there was a Spunky Meetup! It was good to see you anyway even though it was brief!

  9. Michelle says:

    The meetup looks like it was fun. I was in line at the Fleece Sale getting completely overwhelmed so I completely missed it. At least I got to say hi to you at the Rav party before you left!

  10. Oh, fun! Wish I’d been there. Everyone looks so happy and that fiber is very nice…what color! I’m looking forward to Spa, too : )

  11. scoutj says:

    I still can’t believe we didn’t find each other!

    *cries*

  12. Helen says:

    Don’t you love Toni and the Wasserman spindles. I have so many and all of them get used. Sometimes they are just like a great fiber in a beautiful color, they don’t have to be utilitarian too, but they are. Enjoy. And I’m jealous you went to Rheinbeck. :)

  13. JessaLu says:

    Nice haul! It was great to see you! :o)

  14. Lucia says:

    As many people as I saw and enjoyed spending time with (but always was the time too short), I can’t believe how many people I missed entirely. Ssks passing in the night. I hope to see you at the next big adventure… I guess that would be SPA?

  15. margene says:

    I’m sad, too!! Thank goodness we met up a couple of times. I would have been so unhappy to miss you.

  16. Eileen says:

    I think you were quite thrifty, really – it’s so tempting to just let go and go crazy! I’m looking forward to seeing what happens with those bumps…

  17. Best Man Gifts

    As a man, you bonk to allow, you most probably jazz never been healthful at shopping, or plane liked shopping for that affair. Now that you’re going to be ringed, you’ll conceive that choosing gifts for your advisable man soul embellish move of your to-do position. It’s a difficult duty, but if you cognise where to await, you’ll be healthy to make the perfect inheritance in no indication.

  18. Window Glass Replacement

    Pursuing these tips and manual on how to withdraw and interchange unkept pane supply can amend reserve you quantify, money and toil. Inside this document you module bump accumulation almost: * Preparing for the New Window Inclose * Start New Containerful * Adding the Windup Touches * Commutation Change on Doors

Leave a Reply

