Thinking of Socks.

Socks.
I haven’t knit on any of my socks in a while…..
Quite a while.

With the girls asking for sweater and me wanting sweaters myself, I’ve been ignoring the socks. Well, I also don’t wear socks in the summer. Once the weather is warm enough I ditch all the socks and it’s a case of “out of sight, out of mind”. Now it’s well in mind. It’s gotten quite a bit colder. I went looking for my socks that were put away in May.

Maybe put away isn’t the word for what I did. At the last washing of the year, they sat on the drying table in the studio for quite some time. They stayed there until I needed to use the table for a fleece…So the poor neglected socks all got dumped into a corner to quickly get them out of my way because I had washed the fleece, had it in my arms over the table….I had forgotten to move the socks ahead of time.

There the socks lay until I needed them this past week. I found 3 pair and 1 pair that needed mending. I had 2 pair that I let run through the regular wash cycle because the yarn is Supernova and it withstands the torture of the machines. So there we have 6 pair. I am missing 2 more. I still haven’t made an exhaustive search for them or anything but I’ll find them soon…I hope.

In the meantime, I decided I better crank out a couple more pairs. I have a beautiful yarn gifted to me by my boyfriend David in a swamp swap we did on Ravelry. It’s a glorious yarn and I know it’s going to make incredible socks. The yarn is so great that I almost feel bad making them into socks.
socks_with_Davidyarn

And then in anticipation of finishing these within an hour (I knit way fast in my head), I wound up this yarn:
2tonesocks

In the meantime, I started spinning up October’s club and that will definitely need to be the next socks on the needles. I finished the singles last night and will ply them so that when I’m on my 2 trips over the next 2 weekends, I’ll have them to work on. That is assuming I don’t fall in love with another project before them. My knit love is very fickle.

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Thinking of Socks.

  1. farm-witch says:

    Yah! My toes have been telling me it’s time to finish that WIP pair of socks I’ve tucked into the bottom of the basket!

  2. Dianna says:

    Yep. I lost the sock mojo in August somewhere along with the arrival of Samson. He likes to “help” knit, but with socks on Size 0’s and a beaded knitting lace project also on the needles, not much knitting has gone one while Sam has put on 20 lbs in the past four weeks, and is a goober riot to be around!

    I am heartened to know I am not the only fast knitter in my mind, and fickle fiber project enthusiast.

  3. Loopykd says:

    I need to get back to socks too. I have a boatload of Christmas knitting on my list right now and there are socks in there. I hope I remember how to do it?!

  4. JenCW says:

    Yeah, remember that pair of socks that I started about 3 years ago… (Maybe 4?!)… I have one whole complete sock done. And one sock that’s just sitting there. It’s at the point where I am “turning the heel”, but then Libby left the yarn shop and then it closed down. So ummm, I don’t know what to do with the sock now.

  5. Amy says:

    I need to start some socks soon too. I am at a turning point in my knitting. I am not sure what project to start next

  6. Steph says:

    I’ve been wanting to start socks, but I have too many projects going on for other folks right now. Maybe I’ll squeeze ONE more project in!
    The handspun socks are lovely. :)

  7. SuperM says:

    I’ve got to get my sock mojo back on too. I’ve got 3 kid-sized pairs to make since people have grown out of their socks. OK, so the baby doesn’t *need* new socks, but she shouldn’t have to wear only boys socks all the time.

    And then there are the 5 pairs of socks that have been abandoned in various stages of completion. Plus all the socks that are planned in my head.

    You know, I got a lot more socks knit when I was commuting 1 1/2 hours each way on the train 2-3 days a week!

  8. Danielle says:

    “I knit way fast in my head.” So true, so true!

Leave a Reply

