Flip Weave

Nights after the girls are settled in, is my only really time to sit and weave or knit lately. Actually it’s my only time to spin either. Since it’s late, I want to lounge as well. Having a large 4 harness or a larger Rigid Heddle isn’t what I would call lounge weaving. So I have a 15 inch Flip from the shop and it fits on my lap perfectly. I’ll have to see if I can get Husbeast to take a photo of my lounge weaving.

Having the pieces and parts all over the living room was bugging me. Plus, I knew I wanted to be able to take this with me. I made myself a bag:
newloombag
This is what was in there:
loomstuff

To make this bag, I started with a tough canvasy type material for the outside and the inside is a patterned calico.
I left the material folded in half and considered the fold the bottom. I set the loom, in it’s folded traveling state as shown in the photo, on top of the folded material. I gave it 4 inches extra on the side and the top. For this loom, I only needed to cut at the side. I made a giant pocket in the front that will hold my pick up sticks and extra heddles. I also made 2 giant pockets for the inside that will hold clamps, warping peg, and stick shuttles. You could also make another large pocket for yarns.

Attach the pockets to the parts, then sew the sides up of each part (leave a hole in the calico for flipping the bag). Turn one right side out and put them together (right sides together) with handles. Sew the top, turn the bags right way. Sew a triangle at the bottom for a square bottom and then do a top stitching around the top.

I know the directions are a little vague but it’s just a simple square bottom tote. If you get any sewing pattern for a square bottom tote, you will get the idea of how to make it, the important stuff was custom fitting it to your loom.

Soon I’ll show you what I’ve been working on.

This entry was posted in weaving. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Flip Weave

  1. marissa says:

    OOOO, cool bag, great fabric. And, what, no sneak peek at what you’re working on??

  2. Rene says:

    Really great bag, and nice yarn to weave by. Now we need pictures of what’s on your loom you’re weaving. Can’t wait to get mine and get started!

  3. Amy says:

    great bag! urge to weave…rising…must…resist…

  4. Steph says:

    I’m the same way with my crafting time; after the kids go to bed I make a mad dash to my spinning wheel.
    Love the tote!

  5. Roo says:

    Hmm. You really like the flip? I’m thinking about getting an inexpensive rigid heddle – the frame loom hurts my wrist too much with all the actual weaving in and out (go figure, the actual weaving part!) but I’m hesitant. And I’d definitely want something I could sit in bed with – or on the couch with – or at the kitchen table with. But I definitely want one that’s GOOD and that I can warp easily. I’ve never woven on a true loom. (though I have a 6 harness?? standing loom in my bf’s father’s basement that will be mine the SECOND I live somewhere it will fit)

  6. wendy says:

    Great tote…cool happy colors.

    Could you make thick plain weave kitchen towels with a flip? I’ve been really thinking nice thick kitchen towels would be nice lately.lol.

    Hmmmm, my guess is…a scarf?

  7. Super bag! Can’t believe how much stuff it holds ; )

  8. Jennifer says:

    I’ve been enjoying the occasional small project or two on my rigid heddle loom as well. It’s fun and a new way to work with yarn. I love the look of your custom bag!

  9. Loopykd says:

    Wow, I love how this turned out and the directions do make sense. I would love to start to weave. I think I will go through so more stash for a while before I think about learning a new hobby.

Leave a Reply

