I'm back.

It was quite the trip. I learned alot about book photography and I got to meet so many people. I feel very lucky to be working with Interweave and their talented staff. I didn’t bring a camera so I don’t have any photos from Colorado. I’m really bad about blogging things like that because I almost never take photos even when I bring a camera. Which has made me learn that it’s not worth dragging around my big camera when I’m not likely to use it anyway.

That’s not to say I have absolutely no photos. I have pictures of the projects I’ve been working on. Before I left, I finished Ariann.
ariann

I worked on that Baby Boogie sweater, and would have finished it, had I made the right size.
2sweaters
I wrote sizes in my notebook for both girls but for some reason, I made the big girl size thinking it was the small one. I didn’t notice it until I had finished the sleeves and was working down the body. I put it on a scrap piece of yarn, and started the correct size. Now I have 2 sweaters at the same stage.

You’ll notice, though, that it wasn’t finished and Baby Boogie turned 3 yesterday. She didn’t notice because we took her out and got her the other present that she wanted for her birthday:
bb_earrings
Talk about a tough little chickie. She insisted on getting her ears pierced and that it wouldn’t hurt. She flinched a little and fussed after the second one but she toughed it out and swallowed her tears, then went to go pick out more earrings for when she gets to change them. My baby is growing up.

Hopefully I’ll be finishing the sweater soon. I’m glad I decided to dye 2 hanks of yarn or I would have had to rip out a half finished 8goingon20 sweater. I’ve been making a bunch of yarns too. Now that I can spin for a “me” project instead of small bits here and there, I’ve got 3 different projects going on the main wheel and I’m totally unfocused. I love it.

I did finish 2 older projects as well:
yarns
The orangey stuff is Pumpkin Juice from Enchanted Knoll and the pink stuff is some Superwash merino Tencel gifted to me by Abby. I think both yarns will go into items for the girls. Baby Boogie claimed the Pumpkin Juice the second it hit the wheel. I think she wants hats, mittens and scarf if I can bring myself to make a scarf :)

This entry was posted in Knitting, spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to I'm back.

  1. PuppyMomma says:

    Welcome home! Missed you. Give the booger kisses and happy birthdays from me and the dudes. Give the bigger booger kisses too. From us.

  2. Karen says:

    Glad you had a good trip. Ariann looks great!

    I can’t believe Baby Boogie is 3 already! That is pretty tough for 3!

  3. Shannon says:

    I’m glad you are back, missed your blogging…

  4. Julie says:

    Happy Birthday to Baby Boogie! I love the colors she chose for her sweater. Do you have enough to finish both sweaters?

    I love Ariann.

    Glad to hear you had a good trip. So, tell us (if you haven’t already) what is the subject of your book? Is it patterns, spinning, dyeing, something else???? Inquiring minds want to know.

  5. Becky says:

    You were here!? In Colorado? And didn’t say hi???? (Well…it sounds like you were probably busy and all….)

  6. Amy says:

    It sounds like she had a great birthday! Glad you had a great trip, and there is nothing like the feeling of being able to spin whatever you want for no particular reason.

  7. Annalea says:

    So glad you had a great time, and Airann is lovely!

    I’m getting closer to a wheel . . . the destash on Ravelry is helping a lot. lol With one of my non-working wheels sold, and the other mostly destroyed because someone dropped it while we were moving, I’ve got a fresh slate.

    Would Baby Boogie go for a cowl? Or even a cowl with a hat attached? Or a reeeeealllly short scarf that buttons?

  8. Husbeast says:

    What, no mention of the amazing (and yet humble) man who came to your rescue and freed you from the evil Land of Boston and the dread Castle Logan?

    Sheesh!

    :P

  9. Carrie says:

    Wow, it’s hard to believe she’s three. What a little trooper!

  10. Diana(aka sapphyre24) says:

    Wow, love Ariann. The color is gorgeous.
    Glad the trip went well.
    Baby Boogie looks so cute with her earrings. Happy belated Birhtday to her.

  11. maryse says:

    whoa so brave at 3! people said i was a trooper when i got mine pierced when i was 6!

    happy birthday little girl (i don’t think you can call her baby anymore)

  12. Danielle says:

    Wow, she is a tough cookie! I guess pretty soon “Baby Boogie” won’t be accurate anymore, huh?

  13. Julie says:

    Baby Boogie lives on as she will always be the baby of the family.

  14. Hattie says:

    That is tooo cute she wanted them pierced. I’m thinking I’ll wait with my daughter until she’s old enough to take care of them herself, the cleaning and healing bit…

Leave a Reply

