I've been knitting.

No kidding.
And it’s not just knitting for work stuff.
I know, self knits haven’t been going so well around here lately. But I actually even finished something last week. I finished my cowl. Modeled here by the unhappy Kola dog.
kola_cowl
Stats on the Cowl:
Yarn: Merino from Ashland Bay – 2 ply handspun
Pattern: Just caston a bunch of stitches and went to town.
Stats on the Dog:
She only likes having clothing on if one of the girls put it on her and they’re playing dress up. For me to do it just for a photo is somehow more humiliating. She is absolutely a “kids” dog.

I also got a bit of work done on two other projects.
Ariann is now getting yoke work:
ariannwithsleevesattached
8goingon20’s Tomten has the sleeves cast off and I’m working up one of the front sides.
m_tomten
And yes, it was my bright idea to make stripes. I wonder if I can teach 8goingon20 to weave ends…..

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I've been knitting.

  1. anj says:

    your tomten is SO much farther than mine. *sigh. the ariann is looking lovely. Sweet kola doggie.

  2. Sherie says:

    Poor Kola, but the cowl’s color really looks nice on her! Love Adrian and Totem too (must find that Totem pattern for myself!). Good luck on getting someone else to weave in your ends.

  3. Ooh, love how that Tomten is coming out! I’ve thought of making one for Ben, but I think the pattern is a bit feminine. Love the stripes!!

  4. Amy says:

    glad somebody around here is knitting. Those all look fantastic! You could add weaving in ends to the chore chart. Tell her it builds character and there are children in other countries who don’t have any ends to weave in, so she better feel gratefull

  5. Annalea says:

    Isn’t there a way to work the ends into the selvedge? It seems like there should be a way to do that, and make it pretty, so you don’t have to weave in all. those. ends. I’ve just finished a striped soaker, and there are a TON of ends. It’s languishing, and I need to get on it.

    Isn’t there something in some Estonian mitten book or something about working a multi-colored edge on something?

    I can’t wait to see the finished Ariann!

  6. tiffaney says:

    Ben refuses to believe that animals like to be dressed up. What do I need to do to convince him that they like the attention?!?!

    “She only likes having clothing on if one of the girls put it on her and they’re playing dress up.”

    That melted my heart! What a sweet animal. Reminds me of 2 of the dogs I used to have. They both loved Halloween because they got dressed up and I took them trick-or-treating with me. They loved their costumes and all the attention they got.

  7. Karen says:

    I wish I could get motivated to knit a sweater. Your Ariann is almost there!

  8. farm-witch says:

    kola is stunning in that pretty cowl!

Leave a Reply

