The things I've learned

Those little Magnetic letters that all the kids love for the refrigerator make great faux food when the kids are making home made soup. You shouldn’t eat them for real and you probably don’t want to even lick them if your kids are like mine…. If your kids are like mine then they might sneak a piece of their fake food into the real oven….Check the oven before you cook. These things stink when they’re cooked.
ovenisgrey
Because of that bit of lesson I got, I now know that my oven is grey. Funny, I bought it new and I should know what color it was inside but I suppose I never paid much mind to it. I thought that it was black. Imagine my surprise. I had to burn off all the plastic that was cooked into the oven yesterday and I’m still left with an offending spot to remind me of that event.

I’ve learned that the Louet S45 which is a cool wheel. I also learned that you need to be careful when you use the little bobbin hold thing behind the big front wheel:
s45rogueyarn
Because I learned that if you leave the end all loose and wild that the wheel may catch it up and by the time the treadling is hard, it’s got about half an ounce of yarn. Which I then learned that I’m not patient enough to NOT use the scissors
cutyarnfroms45

This entry was posted in family, life, spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to The things I've learned

  1. Donna B says:

    The first thing I thought when I saw your oven was…it’s so clean! Amy is such a wonder, keeping a clean oven and doing what she does, and a sparkling oven too! Then I read what you wrote and I felt better. :-)

    Life with little ones is endless adventure, eh?

  2. anj says:

    wow. just wow. did the magnet melt too? I need to clean my oven as well.. but am afraid to since I think it will mean that the house will smell like burnt food for days.

    and OH the pain of losing yarn. DAMN that sucks.

  3. Becky says:

    We don’t learn everything in kindergarten now, do we?

  4. Lynn says:

    Oopsie, squared…

  5. karen says:

    I did the exact same thing on my ladybug wheel this weekend. My scissors came out too and I was unhappily down an ounce. ARGH! Too funny to see that pile of clippings!

  6. Sherie says:

    Oh yeah, I so would have cut that too!

  7. Amy says:

    The more you know. Thanks for taking those bullets for the rest of us

  8. marissa says:

    Yikes, NOT a good day in Boogie-land!
    My kids like to bake pies (or, books, as we call them), in my oven. I learned long ago to check!!! (no fires, though).

  9. Annalea says:

    I have two to add to your list:

    Four cups of dry black beans will not fit into a 4-quart crock pot once cooked.

    Black Beans will stain concrete.

    Don’t you love it when life smacks you with stuff like that? ;o) At least you can run the singles through a carder and spin them again . . . right?

  10. Eileen says:

    Well, you lost half an ounce of yarn and gained… umm… half an ounce of really beautiful, sunny, faux spaghetti squash. Which your kids can use as fake food, and stick in your oven. Luckily, wool is flame retardant.
    :D

  11. Rebekkah says:

    eek!

    I once had a similar yarn encounter with a vacuum cleaner. Though mine wasn’t handspun…

  12. Jennifer says:

    Ouch on both booboos. What a frustrating day for you.

  13. MX says:

    I thought I was the only one who resorted to scissors! You made me feel better. AND that’s a challenge today!

  14. What is that pretty fiber you are spinning? I am not a big yellow fan but I like this one.

  15. farm-witch says:

    Doh! Things just seem to be wonky, lately, eh?

  16. Carrie says:

    Yikes! I laughed about the letters in the oven. My kids would so do that, and I wouldn’t even suspect that was the thing burning. Lots of stuff gets on the bottom of my oven. And your yarn was so beautiful! Must spin yellow…

  17. marta says:

    OH! I did that, too! One must be very careful to tuck in ends of finished bobbins waiting to be plied on the Ladybug. One end, luckily just a sample bit, was sucked onto the main wheel spindle . I kept wondering why the feel was SO off then saw the big ol’ lump of wool wound tightly around at the base of wheel. Really nifty, space saving design but very dangerous.

  18. wendy says:

    OUCH!!!!

    You could warn a person before you show such spinning carnage.lol.

    I put a layer of tin foil on the bottom of my oven. Then when those sneaky stinky accidents happen I can quickly removed the tin foil…easy peasy.

  19. Barb says:

    Those are good things to learn. Now look how clean your oven is;-)

  20. Mr Freizeit says:

    Hallo! Ich habe mir auch nen blog zugelegt, komm mich doch auch mal besuchen!

Leave a Reply

