Not to be outdone….

Miss 8goingon20 didn’t want her sister to be the only spinner. She has spun on the wheel before and spent time at it, not just a few hours one day. Then all of a sudden she didn’t want to work on it anymore.

After Baby Boogie’s debut on the wheel, 8goingon20 decided she needed to be spinning but not on the wheel. She wanted to be on the spindle. Which is a much better tool for her. She’s actually drafting!! I’m so proud. She wants to crochet little flowers from the singles and sew them onto things, probably onto stuffed animals if I know her. A few animals have quite a few extra buttons on them. I don’t know why, and yarn heaven help us if she decides to be a vet :)
parkanddraft

I’ve been spending my leisure (haha) time cleaning out the pottery garage. Not really clean but clean to the point where for the next few weeks at least, we can sit in there with all the wheels and fleeces around us. Happily spinning away. We can open the garage door and sit in there with our lawn chairs and be dry or out of the sun sipping on our teas or beers. Philly family coming for a visit so I’m looking forward to a little more relaxing this coming weekend.

Then it remains to be seen if the space stays with wheels and outdoor living space (aka, octogenarian Mainer patio) or if Husbeast wants it for his shop. I’ve been promising him space for years but never giving it up. Now I’ve got 2 good spaces and 1 crappy space for him to choose from and he gets first dibs. But if I keep the Mainer patio then I’m going all out and getting a screen for the big door and getting some classic “old” timer folding chairs. The ones I have are too hip.

Photos will come as soon as the last of the trash is hauled out and I mop. I swear this cleaning thing is going to kill me. But I’m looking forward to one of us being able to use the space again.

This entry was posted in family, spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Not to be outdone….

  1. PuppyMomma says:

    PLEASE be careful with the cleaning! I’m convinced that people HAVE died because of cleanliness. And I want to keep you around a while longer.

  2. anj says:

    cleaning? blasphemy! No cleaning required ;)

  3. Amy says:

    Good for her. That is a cute hair cut she has too.

  4. Arleta says:

    What a cute spinner! What a great idea about the flowers, smart girl!

  5. Bridget says:

    Getting them while they’re young, eh?

    When are you coming back to KAN – we miss you!

  6. I’m one of those spinners who can’t spin if the house is messy. I NEED to clean up so I can peacefully spin. I think clearing out the trash is especially helpful : )

    And, HOORAY for BigSisterBoogie….it must be so cool to have two spinning daughters. Are you fighting over wheels yet?? LOL!

  7. Chesley says:

    Drafting?! That’s awesome!

  8. wendy says:

    That’s so cool…You’re such a great teacher!

    Good luck with the cleaning!

  9. MX says:

    What beautiful spinners you have!!

  10. Sara says:

    She is so adorable!!

    What are you doing with all the pottery???

  11. Sherie says:

    Like mother, like daughter!! Love her plan of the flowers, great idea.

Leave a Reply

