Natural fibers and more

I found out from 3 suppliers that prices will be raised August 1st. As new stock comes in the prices will be raised on all natural fibers as well as Louet and Fricke products. That’s the bummer news.

The good news is that I’m adding in new fibers. I have a ton more fiber in the shop than you ever see on the website. So I’m spending time in between dye batches today and tomorrow adding in new luxury fibers and more. Soon I will be carrying the colored Louet Merino Silk in stock.

In my down time, what little there is of it, I managed to finishe spinning and plying my Shetland for a project:
shetlandquartet
It’s 2 ounces of each of the 4 colors of shetland natural – Navajo plied.

And I got the Bison Bliss dyed with Cochineal:
bisonbliss_red

I’m totally in love with that little skein. I just need to find the right lace scarf and I’ll have a new scarf for this winter.

This entry was posted in spinning, Spunky Eclectic. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Natural fibers and more

  1. Okay, I’m totally dyeing mine with cochineal now too, but I’m going to mordant it differently. What did you mordant with?

    I bet I know what the Shetland is for.

  2. Amy says:

    I love seeing cochineal used for dying. It grows wild around here and it is fun to see it being used.

  3. Julie says:

    WOW, I LOVE the dyed Bison yarn!

    Doesn’t it figure that just when I’m ready to look for a new wheel, prices are going up – Pooh!

  4. tanya says:

    That color is to dye for – lol! I’ll look forward to seeing some of the fiber stocked in your shop.

  5. naomi says:

    Okay, now I really need to start working with natural dyes. That cochineal came out wonderfully.

  6. Jamisyn says:

    Gorgeous spinning and dying!

  7. Donna B says:

    love your pretty cochineal dyed skein! I am always checking out your natural colored fibers so glad there will be more to drool over! :-)

  8. wendy says:

    You do such wonderful work!

    I think I suck at spinning but at least I enjoy it.lol.

  9. John says:

    I love the Shetland sampler, beautiful colors and spinning…and ditto on the bison. I may now have to try some natural dyeing…hmmm. Pretty excited too about the imminent arrival of more natural fibers!

  10. marissa says:

    Did you tell us what the Shetland is for ? I love the totally neutral color combo.
    And stop teasing me with that bison!!
    Marissa

Leave a Reply

