Kombucha

I haven’t had much for recipes for you lately. Things have been stagnant here in the new recipe department since the fruit revelation. Funny how one little thing can set a girl running back to the food she knows. So it’s been a lot of salads, green smoothies and rice dishes. Last week I made my first batch of Kombucha.

When I went in for a tattoo day 2 weeks ago, Jennifer had brought in a little SCOBY for me. I bought my jar and away I went to make my Kombucha. In case you don’t want to click the link, it’s a fermented tea drink. It tastes ciderish. We make it with less sugar than is called for and use Turbinado. In that way the Mother eats all the sugar out of it so we can still live a sugar free existence.
kombucha
There is a lot of information about how to make it and Jen has some linked from her site. Here’s one site with videos The guy in that video is entertaining but boy does he use a lot of sugar. You can use a ton of sugar but you don’t have to. Though you need to use some. Mother needs the sugar to eat and live. Poor Sara was forced to drink my Kombucha that hadn’t had it’s final fermentation. It is good and ok to drink after a week without the rebottling, but it should be even better today though.

There is some knitting and spinning too. Actually I’ve been doing a ton of spinning though most of it is not recreational. This is the yarn I’ve done for the Goddess Anniversary Shawl knit along:
shawl_goddessanniv_yarn
Because of a discussion in Ravelry….I decided I needed to start the shawl and did the first round just before the second round was posted. I think I’m just going to do chart D all the way through. Less decision making if I just follow one all the way.
shawl_goddessanniv
That is assuming I actually keep going and aren’t halted by other work.

This entry was posted in Knitting, life, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Kombucha

  1. Arleta says:

    That shawl is going to be gorgeous. The color looks amazing on my screen.

  2. julie says:

    That is going to be a stunning shawl. I love the color!

  3. Marcy says:

    That is so funny. My friend brought me some kombucha the other day. I’d never heard of it until then. She said it was carbonated tea. I liked it. But when I read the label, I realized it wasn’t carbonated; it was fermented. I totally want to make my own. I have made sauerkraut, yogurt, sourdough bread, etc. I love the combination of cooking/science experiment.

  4. Sara says:

    You’re a goose… I wasn’t forced and I thought it was fantastic!

  5. Amy says:

    that is a pretty color. I bet it will be a very nice shawl!

  6. Gigi says:

    Oooo, the shawl looks heavenly in that yarn!

  7. Norma says:

    I had kombucha for a long time, and I loved-loved-LOVED the concept. However, it made me have yeast infections! If you do some research on the net, you’ll find that some people claim that, though it is controversial. I kept trying to deny it was happening, because I felt the health benefits were so potentially great, but I had to give it up in the end.

  8. marta says:

    I always love your color choices. You put things together in ways I would never come up with.
    and…
    TAG! Yer it! (heh, go to my blog to see the rules.) I know you are supremely busy but there’s only a few questions and I really would like to know your answers :-D

  9. Katie says:

    I have been wanting to try making kombucha for awhile…I just need to get around to getting the starter somewhere. Congratulations on your first batch!

  10. Pingback: Kombucha….again | Boogie Eclectic

Leave a Reply

