Ply-day

Sometimes I save up plying. I love making the singles but the plying can bore me. I save it up for times when I need really thoughtless slothy things to do. Times when my brain can’t seem to function properly. It can ply though. Sometimes I just save it up until I have no more bobbins to start a new project or for when I need the project off the bobbins.

Sunday was ply-day for me.

Remember the Merino Bamboo the color of Hay bales?
sosr_mb

I was originally thinking of making Bianca’s Jacket. I finished a little over 900 yards.
mb_diapertan
And have changed my mind for the first time. I say first time because I’m likely to change it again. I made this pink jacket for Boogie Baby last year and loved it.
bb_lacycardidone
Every time she wears it I think I need one for me. So now I’m thinking a Hay bale one for me would be nice. Especially in Merino Bamboo.

I also finally plied some stuff I started last year
abbytweed
It was received in a swap with Abby. It was so insanely gorgeous that I just couldn’t decide what to do with it. I decided to finish up the singles and all of a sudden I realized that it would make a perfect shawl. Now I need to decide between Baltic Blossoms and Gypsy and whatever else I find before I cast on…. I have 2 skeins coming in at almost 900 yards… And I have a lot of shawls I want to make…Decisions….

This entry was posted in spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Ply-day

  1. Scott says:

    Speaking of spinning straw:

    “To-day do I bake, to-morrow I brew,
    The day after that the queen’s child comes in;
    And oh! I am glad that nobody knew
    That the name I am called is Rumpelstiltskin!”

  2. Diane says:

    I love the colour of the hay bale yarn! Is it prickly? Just kidding ;-)

    With all those empty bobbins, what are you planning next? Or are they full again already…

  3. Ohhhh, it was that superwash/merino/tencel, wasn’t it? I totally forgot about that. I should do some more.

  4. Diana says:

    I think the Gypsy Shawl has Boogie written all over it but the other is gorgeous.

  5. Amy says:

    I am currently having a ply day. I am forcing myself to finish plying and rewarding myself with a new knitting project when I am done

  6. PuppyMomma says:

    You can choose either shawl to make for me. Make whatever you want. I won’t complain.

    :P

  7. Plying isn’t so problematic for me, it’s finishing the spinning I’ve started when I’ve got so much lovely fiber in different colors and fibers that need to be spun too. I’ve taken to hiding my empty bobbins from myself when I need to finish yarn that I’ve started to avoid temptation.

  8. Annalea says:

    Oh, that is beautiful. I was watching a friend of mine spin last night at my LYS, and I wanted sooooo much to learn how to do it. I know, in my head, how it’s all supposed to work. I’ve read about it, even done a little pathetic spindling on a home made spindle. I’ve got to get a good wheel after I get rid of a LOT of other junk which I suddenly realized I have during this move (UGH), and get myself a wheel and an in-real-life teacher to show me what I’m doing wrong when things don’t go like I expect. ;o)

  9. Suzie says:

    You almost (almost!) distracted me from my original comment purpose with that lovely baltic shawl thingy link because it is so beautiful I. Must. Cast. On. NOW. (despite innumerable other UFOs)

    But. I have focus and perserverance (and perhaps spelling skills, but maybe not) and will have my say.

    what? where?

    Oh, yeah, I remember now. Isn’t supposed to be that when your bobbins are all full (or your needles or, you know, whatever…) you get new bobbins?!? My entertainment fund would be way underspent if I didn’t buy new needles to start projects nobody even dreams I’ll ever finish. Now is that any way to treat a poor defenseless budget? I didn’t think so…….

    ;)))

  10. Jennifer says:

    What lovely plied yarns! I especially like the colors in the bottom picture. It will make a gorgeous shawl.

  11. Ann says:

    I vote for Gypsy. (I looked up the photos elsewhere. hee hee)

Leave a Reply

